Awards by the Numbers

We are proud of our faculty and the quality of their research and scholarship activities. Their achievements are reflected in their many awards and honours:

  • Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement (David Schindler)
  • 2 Canada Gairdner Awards for advances in biomedical sciences (Lorne A. Babiuk, Raymond U. Lemieux)
  • 68 Order of Canada recipients across multiple disciplines
  • 155 Royal Society of Canada fellows and 15 RSC medal recipients
  • 6 Royal Society Fellows, London, UK (John Vederas, David Schindler, Brian Sykes, Michael James, Werner Israel, Raymond U. Lemieux)
  • 24 Alberta Order of Excellence members - Alberta's highest honour is bestowed on those whose achievements have significantly enhanced the well-being of the province and its people.

Recent awards:

2019 Canadian Academy of Engineering Fellow: Ying-Hei Chui, Clayton Deutch, Hongbo Zheng
2019 Canadian Academy of Health Sciences: Sangita Sharma
2019 J Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research: Kathryn Koslicki, Graham Pearson
2019 Killam Annual Professors: Debra Davidson, Wolfgang Jäger, Maria Mayan, Vera Mazurak, Vivian Mushahwar, Philomina Okeke-Ihejirika, Martin Sharp, Lisa Strohschein
2019 Manulife Prize for the Promotion of Active Health: Kerry Courneya
2019 Martha Cook Piper Research Prize: Cameron Jefferies, Rylan Lundgren
2019 NSERC Steacie Fellowship: Hongbo Zheng
2019 Partners in Research (PIR) Science Ambassador Award: Philip Currie
2019 Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists: Yang Liu, Zubia Mumtaz
2019 Royal Society of Canada Fellow: Liang Li
2019 Sloan Research Fellowship: Stephanie Green
2019 University Cup: Ellen Macdonald

2018 National Academy of Inventors: Robert Burrell
2018 Trudeau Foundation Fellows: Malinda Smith, Kim TallBear
2018 Guggenheim Fellowship: Michael Woodside
2018 Killam Prize: James Pinfold

The university also bestows honours on faculty whose achievements in research, scholarship and creative activities are deemed outstanding by experts in their respective fields. These awards include J Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research, Martha Cook Piper Research Prize and the University Cup.

Visit the Academic Awards and Ceremonies Database to find all our award winners. You can search by award, recipient and/or field of study.