Lesson 1 - Worldview



Clan Mothers

Clan mothers are older respected women of an Indigenous community. The clan mothers were often tasked with selecting and supporting the male clan chiefs. (Reference)

Inuit Quajimajatuqangit (IQ)

Inuit Quajimajatuqangit (IQ) is the term used to describe Inuit epistemology and is translated directly to mean, "that which Inuit have always known to be true." (Reference)

Inuit Nunangat

Inuit Nunangat is the geographical regions that inhabit Inuit peoples; including parts of Alaska, Siberia, Canada and Greenland.

In Canada, the four Inuit regions are:
1. Inuvialuit Settlement Region,
2. Nunavut,
3. Nunatsiavut, and
4. Nunavik. (Reference)


Maligait is an Inuit term that is rooted in four laws:
1. Work for the common good
2. Respect all living things
3. Preserve of harmony and balance
4. Plan and prepare for the future (Reference)

Matrilineal clan system

Matrilineal clan systems are kinship formations grounded in following the descent of the mother's clan. Kanien:keha'ka communities are one group of Indigenous peoples in North America that adhere to a matrilineal clan system.


A moiety is an anthropological term used to describe the process wherein two different kin groups live together. (Reference)


A potlatch is a gift-giving feast common to Indigenous peoples of the Northwest Coast. Traditionally, potlatches were instrumental to the governance structure of the various nations practicing them as they would outline kinship obligations and social status. (Reference)