School of Public Health Students' Association

The School of Public Health Students’ Association (SPHSA) is a student run organization that serves as an academic and social support system for students. We serve as a liaison between students and administration of the School.

We are here to ensure that you have the best experience possible as a student.


What do we do?

The objectives of SPHSA are:

  • to provide guidance and advocate on behalf of all students, including campus and distance students, and all specialty areas within the School of Public Health graduate programs.
  • to provide opportunities for, and inform School of Public Health students of, intellectual, cultural, social and recreational activities.
  • to ensure that School of Public Health graduate students are represented in the School of Public Health, the Graduate Students Association and the broader University of Alberta committees.
  • to increase awareness of public health principles and practice, public health research, and graduate education in public health.
  • to engage in and encourage public health initiatives, both local and global, on campus and in the community.

There are many opportunities for you to shape your experience in the School through SPHSA, so don’t hesitate to get involved.

Elected Positions (2019)

Name 

Email 
Executive     

Sadaf Ekhlas
President
ekhlas@ualberta.ca

Ahmed Rana
Vice President
aqrana@ualberta.ca

Breanne Aylward
Communications Officer
aylward@ualberta.ca

Ryan Fung
Financial Officer
rfung@ualberta.ca

Narlie Dapilos
Social Coordinator
dapilos@ualberta.ca

Sarah Wilson
Social Coordinator
sdw@ualberta.ca

Misha Miazga-Rodriguez
Internal Relations

miazgaro@ualberta.ca

Elizabeth Wishart
External Relations
eewishar@ualberta.ca

Directors at Large 

Simrat Sandha
Epidemiology Director at Large


ssandha@ualberta.ca

Shanique Killingbeck
Occupational and Environmental Health Director at Large
killingb@ualberta.ca

Lauren Kennedy
Health Policy and Management Director at Large
lk2@ualberta.ca

Krisha Quiambao
Global Health Director at Large

krishama@ualberta.ca

Zahra Saidhersi
Health Promotion Director at Large
saidhers@ualberta.ca

Carly Hoy
Health Promotion Distance Director at Large
cjhoy@ualberta.ca

Navjot Sandila
Applied Biostatistics Director at Large
sandila@ualberta.ca

Holly Sullivan
Masters Director at Large
hsulliva@ualberta.ca

Jacob Hambrook
PhD Director at Large
hambrook@ualberta.ca