School of Public Health Students' Association

The School of Public Health Students’ Association (SPHSA) is a student run organization that serves as an academic and social support system for students. We serve as a liaison between students and administration of the School.

We are here to ensure that you have the best experience possible as a student.


What do we do?

The objectives of SPHSA are:

  • to provide guidance and advocate on behalf of all students, including campus and distance students, and all specialty areas within the School of Public Health graduate programs.
  • to provide opportunities for, and inform School of Public Health students of, intellectual, cultural, social and recreational activities.
  • to ensure that School of Public Health graduate students are represented in the School of Public Health, the Graduate Students Association and the broader University of Alberta committees.
  • to increase awareness of public health principles and practice, public health research, and graduate education in public health.
  • to engage in and encourage public health initiatives, both local and global, on campus and in the community.

There are many opportunities for you to shape your experience in the School through SPHSA, so don’t hesitate to get involved.

Elected Positions (2017)

Name 

Email 
Executive     

PJ Vasdev
President
vasdev@ualberta.ca

Iain Miller
Vice President
imiller1@ualberta.ca

Charlotte Ryder Burbidge
Communications Officer

ryderbur@ualberta.ca

Emily Maplethorpe
Financial Officer
mapletho@ualberta.ca

Shelby Johnson
Social Coordinator
slj@ualberta.ca

Hilton Chan 
Social Coordinator
hchan@ualberta.ca

Alex Loverock
Internal Relations

aloveroc@ualberta.ca

Mariem Oloroso 
External Relations
oloroso@ualberta.ca

Directors at Large 

Adrianna Paiero
Epidemiology Director at Large


paiero@ualberta.ca

Danielle Barry
Occupational and Environmental Health Director at Large
dbarry@ualberta.ca

Staci Silverman
Health Policy and Management Director at Large
staci@ualberta.ca

Kelsey Robertson
Global Health Director at Large

kerobert@ualberta.ca

Salimah Valiani
Health Promotion Director at Large
valiani@ualberta.ca

Laryssa Sawchuk
Health Promotion Distance Director at Large
lsawchuk@ualberta.ca 

Macy Zou
Applied Biostatistics Director at Large
meicun@ualberta.ca

Heather Nixdorff
Masters Director at Large
hnixdorf@ualberta.ca

Rebecca Foley
Phd Director at Large
rfoley@ualberta.ca