Dr Jean Hugill Research Award

Jean Hugill Headshot
Dr Hugill was one of the first female specialist physicians on the West Coast after graduating from University of Alberta’s Faculty of Medicine in 1946. She was a pioneer in the development of obstetric anesthesia in Canada and was passionate about the provision of a “good birth” for mother and child. She became an expert on the anesthesia management of surgery for pheochromocytoma—surgery that continues to tax the skill of the anesthesiologist—and provided care for more patients with this condition than all her colleagues combined. Dr Hugill founded the first Anesthesia department in Port Alberni’s West Coast General Hospital, and later joined Vancourver General as a lead anesthesiologist until 1985. Over the course of her lifetime, Dr Hugill donated over $1.2 million to further pain management and anesthesia at the University of British Columbia and University of Alberta.

One of the barriers to clinical research within Anesthesiology, Pain Medicine and Peri-operative Medicine is the lack of initial start-up support. This makes it difficult to demonstrate a history of successful award applications when looking for significant funding or participation in large clinical trials.

 Award Mandate

The award would allow for funding support in the areas of clinical research, educational inquiry, and quality improvement in the areas of anesthesiology, pain management and peri-operative care. The award is expected to provide salary support for research staff, data analysis and any tools/equipment required for initial feasibility studies with the intention of the pursuing larger external awards and/or participation in large clinical trials and/or research publications.

 Eligible recipient(s) must be associated with and actively working in the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, Edmonton Zone. Proposals from ALL health disciplines will be accepted. Priority will be given to proposals with patient and/or family involvement and proposals with both staff and residents as part of the investigating team.

 Fund Distribution

Grant competition will be held on a two year cycle. Up to five (5) awards of up to $15,000 each will be provided with a maximum funding envelope of $75,000.

Applications must include:

  1. application form
  2. project proposal
  3. budget
  4. CV’s (maximum 4 page biosketch)

Committee Composition

  • The Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine will chair the Hugill Research Award committee.
  • The Associate Chair – Research of the Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine will co-chair the Hugill Research Award committee.
  • The Chair will recruit members for the organizing/evaluation committee each spring prior to the call for applications.
  • Decisions will be made by consensus agreement.

Application Form

Submission Deadline is May 16, 2025

Results will be announced by June 30, 2025.

Applications should include as one document:

  1. application form
  2. project proposal
  3. budget
  4. CV’s (maximum 4 page biosketch)

Application Submission