Research Committee

The Emergency Medicine Research Committee manages the department's many research opportunities and academic issues. The members meet every other month.

Committee Responsibilities:

  1. Organizing the Department of Emergency Medicine's annual Research Day
  2. Managing resident rotations: Evidence Based Emergency Medicine Schedule
  3. Discussing any research issues related to the University of Alberta Hospital and other ED research sites
  4. Keeping apprised of available funding opportunities

Affiliated ED Research Sites

  • RAH: Royal Alexandra Hospital
  • GN: Grey Nuns Hospital
  • MIS: Misericordia Hospital
  • UAH: University of Alberta Hospital
  • Sturgeon General Hospital
  • NECHC: North East Community Health Centre
  • STCH: Strathcona Community Hospital

Research Committee

  • Christopher McCabe, PhD; Capital Health Endowed Chair, Emergency Medicine
  • Bill Sevcik, MD, FRCPC (Chair; UAH)
  • Brian Rowe MD, MSc, CCFP(EM) (UAH)
  • Kathryn Dong, MD, MSc, FRCPC (RAH)
  • Brian Holroyd, MD, FRCPC (UAH)
  • Sandy Dong, MD, MSc, FRCPC (RAH)
  • Sheldon Wiens, MD, CCFP(EM) (SCH)
  • Troy Turner, BSc, MD, FRCPC (Peds ED)
  • Lisa Cruywels (Department Administrator)
  • Sarah Curtis, MD, FRCPC (Peds ED)
  • Don Voaklander, PhD (School of Public Health)
  • Kevin Skoblenick, MD (Resident Representative)
  • Ross Purser, MD, CCFP (GNH)
  • Aliyah Gauri, MSPH (Research Initiative Coordinator)
  • Daniela Junqueira, PhD (Research Associate)