Award Winning Researchers

Tory Chairs

  • Sarah Carter
  • Beverly Lemire

Distinguished University Professor

  • David R. Marples

McCalla Professor

  • 2013: Margriet Haagsma (History and Classics)
  • 2011: Susan Smith (History)
  • 2010: Frances Pownall (History and Classics)

University Cup

  • 2008: David Marples, Arts (History and Classics)

J. Gordin Kaplan Award
This annual award recognizes research excellence in the general area of humanities, social sciences, law, education, and fine arts, and excellence in the sciences or engineering.

  • 2014: Sarah Carter (History and Classics)
  • 2012: Beverly Lemire (History and Classics, H. M. Tory Chair)
  • 2011: John-Paul Himka (History and Classics)

Martha Cook Piper Research Prize
Social Sciences, Humanities, Fine Arts, Law and Education Category
Recognizes faculty members at an early stage in their careers who have developed strong reputations for original research and who show outstanding promise as researchers.

  • 2015: Dominique Clement (Sociology) - (Adjunct, History & Classics)

2016 Faculty of Arts Research Excellence Awards

  • Full Professor: Robert Smith (History and Classics)

FGSR Great Supervisor Award

  • 2018: Selina Stewart, Heather Coleman
  • 2019: Jeremy Rossiter