Research in the MFM division includes participation in clinical trials, both locally initiated and Multicentre National Trials. The Division has been successful in obtaining funding from CIHR, Canadian Foundation for Women's Health and WCHRI. The MFM group also actively leads population based studies, through collaboration with the Alberta Perinatal Health Program (APHP) and the Alberta Congenital Anomalies Surveillance System (ACASS).

The MFM division also collaborates with Pediatrics and its subspecialties, Diagnosistc Imaging and the reproductive sciences division in the Department of ObGyn.

Areas of Research Focus

  • Preclampsia /Preclampsia Prevention
  • Perinatal outcomes and interpregnancy intervals
  • Maternal Serum Biochemistry and adverse Perinatal Outcomes
  • PPROM and Preterm Birth
  • Fetal Ultrasound
  • Exercise in Pregnancy
  • Predicting Lung Hypoplasia
  • Fetal Echo and Fetal MRI
  • Medical Education
  • Basic and translational research in maternal aging
  • Basic and translational research in pregnancy outcomes

Clinical Research Collaborations

Synergy in Microbiota Research (SyMBIOTA)
Principal Investigators: Anita L. Kozyrsky (University of Alberta), Allan B. Becker (University of Manitoba), David Guttman (University of Toronto), Kent T. Hayglass (University of Manitoba), Piush Mandhane (CHILD Study), James A. Scott (University of Toronto)
Co-Investigators: Dean A. Befus (University of Alberta), Radha Chari (University of Alberta), Catherine J. Field (University of Alberta), Terry P. Klassen (Manitoba Institute of Child Health), Stuart E. Turvey (Child & Family Research Institute).

Data Mining and Newborn Outcomes (DOMiNO)

Team: Dr. Osornio-Vargas, Dr. Irena Buka, Dr. Khalid Aziz, Dr. Manoj Kumar, Dr. Sue Chandra, Osnat Wine, Emily Chan , Dr. Osmar Zaiane, Dr. Sajib Barua, Dr. Yan Yuan, Dr. Yutaka Yasu, Jesus Serrano, Charlene Nielsen, Dr. Paul Villeneuve, Dr. Perry Hystad, Dr. Anne-Marie Nicols, Dr. Laura Arbour, Anders Erickson, Dr. Eleanor Setton , Dr. Paul Demers, Dr. Prakeshkumar Shah, Dr. David Stieb, Dr. Phil Blagden, Nancy Aelicks, and Erica Phipps.