2020 Teaching Award Recipients

2020 Award Announcement ( The Quad [April, 2020] )

Announcing the 2020 University of Alberta Awards for Teaching Excellence

On behalf of the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee, it is my pleasure to announce the University of Alberta’s 2020 Teaching Excellence Awards recipients.

We celebrate these awards annually as a way of publicly recognizing outstanding teaching. This year, however, the awards feel especially poignant. Over the past weeks our community has undertaken a sea-change in the way we teach, learn, and conduct campus life. Every member of our community has contributed to this transformation, and the U of A’s many instructors have invested an incredible effort in transitioning their courses to remote delivery and supporting their students through the pandemic.

I am proud to recognize these 2020 Teaching Excellence Awards recipients for their strong positive impact on students and colleagues, and for their contributions to an outstanding learning experience at the U of A.

Congratulations to all of the recipients:

Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
• Samer Adeeb (Faculty of Engineering)
• Heather Coleman (Faculty of Arts)
• Tami Oliphant (Faculty of Education)

Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Alexandra Komrakova (Faculty of Engineering)
• Lauren Sulz (Faculty of Education)

Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Heather Bruce (Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences)
• Sandipan Pramanik (Faculty of Engineering)
• Lin Snelling (Faculty of Arts)
• Tian Tian (Faculty of Engineering)
• Janet Wesselius (Augustana Campus)

Teaching Unit Award
• HPE Med Cohort Teaching Unit: Doug Gleddie, Lauren Sulz and Hayley Morrison (Faculty of Education)

William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Karsten Loepelmann (Faculty of Science)
• Kuo-Chan Sun (Faculty of Arts)

I also want to thank the members of the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee for their thorough review and adjudication of this year’s award nominations.

Once again, congratulations to all of the 2020 recipients on this well-deserved recognition.

— Steven Dew
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

For a complete list of academic awards and recipients visit Faculty Awards database. Use the search tool or navigate to the award you are interested in. For discipline specific awards select the appropriate field of study and determine which award(s) are applicable then click search. Click on "Show award recipients..." to view the list of past recipients of that award.