Hats off to new Rehab Med grads

Rehab med fall graduates celebrated at post-convocation event

Amy Knezevich - 22 November 2019

On Wednesday, November 20, we celebrated our newest graduates from the Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine's MSc in Speech-Language Pathology, MSc in Occupational Therapy and MSc and PhD recipients from the rehabilitation science program. Following the official University of Alberta convocation ceremony, we hosted a reception and student awards presentation.

The new grads were greeted and given their starfish pins by alumni volunteers Michele Jessop ('82 BScOT), Karyn Forst ('95 BA, '98 MScSLP), Julie Swanson ('08 MScSLP) and Nicole Baumback ('05 MScSLP). Dean Bob Haennel, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders Chair Andrea MacLeod and Associate Dean, Graduate Studies Patricia Manns delivered congratulatory remarks and presented the awards.

Michele Moon, Rehab Med's representative on Alumni Council, was able to deliver her congrats to the grads from Calgary using the Double robot technology that is part of the synchronized distance learning technology used in the Calgary, Edmonton and Camrose classrooms for the occupational therapy and physical therapy programs.

Megan Wilson was awarded the Jim and Fran Vargo Goodwill Award for demonstrated qualities of comradeship and congeniality, and an ability to promote feelings of friendship and goodwill throughout the Faculty. The Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine Student Clinical Award went to Rachelle Aime for skills and attitudes demonstrated in advanced clinical placements. Darby Hines received the Dean's Medal in Rehabilitation Medicine, which is awarded to the graduating student who has the highest average in courses taken at the University of Alberta credited towards the degree.

Congratulations to the award winners and to all of the graduates!