Making An Impact

A gift to the Department of Sociology is a powerful way to make an impact on students' lives. You can choose to contribute to an endowment that provides support in perpetuity of designate your gift for more immediate use in the current year. A charitable tax credit will be issued for all donations.

Gifts to Department - General Donations

General donations will contribute to ongoing investments in spaces that benefit students and staff in the department.

Gifts to Endowments

The Department of Sociology has a number of current endowment opportunities:

Dr. Rosalind Sydie Memorial Scholarship Endowment
The interest from this endowment (goal of $50,000) will provide an annual scholarship to a graduate student in either Sociology or Women's and Gender Studies who is conducting research in gender and culture, feminist theory, and/or gender equity--areas that reflect the many contributions of Professor Emeritus Ros Sydie, who died in June 2019.

Charlene Marshall Award in Sociology: The interest from this endowment will provide deserving undergraduate students in the Department of Sociology the opportunity to pursue educational travel opportunities such as attending conferences and training seminars. Initiated in memory of Charlene Marshall, long-time undergraduate advisor in the department, our aim is to reach $25,000 by July 1, 2018.

Endowed Sociology Account Endowment: The interest from this endowment (E0680) supports awards for graduate students in the form of departmental scholarships, fellowships, loans, bursaries or prizes.

Gordon Hirabayashi Graduate Scholarship Endowment in Sociology: The interest from this endowment (E0547) supports annual graduate student awards with research interests in one or more of human rights, race and ethnic relations, social inequality, and social justice.

Bill Meloff Memorial Teaching Award Endowment: The interest from this endowment (E5923) is directed to the teaching enterprise in Sociology (through an annual award to a faculty member or contract instructor) which includes but is not limited to the purchase of equipment, AV materials and the like.

How to Give

1. Online (credit card) - Please use the secure online form

2. By Mail (cheque) - Please make your cheque payable to the University of Alberta and indicate which fund you would like to support (e.g. 'General Gift', 'Charlene Marshall Memorial Award Endowment') in the memo line

Send your cheque to:

Department of Sociology
c/o Administrative Division Manager, Jeremy Wilhelm
10-11 HM Tory Building
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB T6G 2H4

3. By Phone (credit card) - Please call 780-492-7587. The University advancement office can take your credit card by telephone and direct your donation to the fund you wish to support.