Research Chairs


Sandra Bucerius

Henry Marshall Tory Chair

Dr Bucerius' overarching goal as Henry Marshall Tory Chair is to further develop and establish an empirically-driven and theoretically-informed understanding of the lived realities of marginalized people who have dealings with the Canadian criminal justice system. Her two main area of foci are a) illuminating the life experiences of people being housed in Canadian prisons and b) how people formerly housed in prisons seek to reintegrate into society. Dr. Bucerius' research will examine the broad range of factors that might contribute to successful reintegration post prison, focused on identifying how key societal institutions, such as housing, welfare, family, police, half-way houses, religious organizations are (or are not) contributing to reintegration. Her personal and professional motivations are to foster concrete forms of positive system change to benefit some of our society’s most vulnerable members, while simultaneously building scholarly knowledge and developing new ways to conceptualize criminological trends in Canada. 

Kevin Haggerty

Tier 1 Canada Research Chair

We used to assume that people who said they were being watched were paranoid. We don't believe that any more. From online tracking, to surveillance cameras, to drones circling overhead, an expanding surveillance infrastructure has emerged as one of the most distinctive aspects of contemporary life. This new world of surveillance raises pressing concerns about privacy, state and corporate power, and social disadvantage.

Dr. Kevin D. Haggerty, Canada Research Chair in Surveillance Ecologies, will shine a light on the rapidly changing world of monitoring that we all encounter online, on the streets, and increasingly in our homes. Dr. Haggerty's research explores the complex ways in which different surveillance systems connect, overlap and combine, to create unique surveillance environments. His research will produce new empirical insights into such things as the social and political implications of big data, how surveillance is transforming police practice, and public attitudes towards state and corporate monitoring.

George Pavlich

Henry Marshall Tory Chair

The founding promise of the Canadian criminal justice system was to reduce crime and rationalize punishment. Dr. Pavlich's research program reinvigorates that promise by offering a social theory to make sense of what it means to govern through notions of crime and punishment. That theory pursues ways to limit the number of people who enter the system in the first place, and seeks socially inclusive, but effective, ways to govern many actions now defined as crime.

Tier 1 Canadian Research Chairs, tenable for seven years and renewable, are awarded to outstanding researchers acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields.

Rob Shields

Henry Marshall Tory Chair

Before being awarded the Tory Chair, Dr. Shields was a Professor of Sociology and past Director of the Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies at Carleton University, Ottawa. A Commonwealth Scholar, Rob Shields work spans architecture, planning and urban and regional geography. His interdisciplinary research is in the areas of cultural studies, regional development and locative media in the Intermedia Research Studio and in the City-Region Studies Centre. Current research includes the late work of Jean-Francois Lyotard and of Jean Baudrillard, suburban retail, facilitating studies of nanotech research clusters and editing projects such as a 'City-Regions in Prospect' (with K. Jones and A. Lord), 'Ecologies of Affect' (with T. Davidson and O.Park), and a monograph on 'Topologies of Space'.

The Henry Marshall Tory Chair is named for the first President of the University 1908-1929, first President of the National Research Council of Canada 1928-1935, and first President of Carleton College 1942-1947.



Shirley Anne Tate

Tier 1 Canada Research Chair

Equity Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) policies in universities in Canada, South Africa, Sweden, Finland and Brazil have failed in their promise of social justice transformation. Failure to address intersectional institutional racism and to decolonize universities to ensure social justice transformation is currently a compelling issue. Dr Shirley Anne Tate’s collaborative, international CRC research program examines decolonization and intersectional institutional racism in universities in settler colonial states that are struggling with continuing coloniality, Indigenous rights, racism, and the challenges these pose to commitment to social justice in advanced education and research. Comparative data on structures, policies, and practices of exclusion and marginalization will be drawn from national research projects with Indigenous, Black and People of Colour (IBPOC) faculty, students and activists, and will be analyzed from a Black feminist decolonial lens.