Board of Governors approves academic restructuring plans

Bill Flanagan - 11 December 2020

Today, the Board of Governors approved academic restructuring plans for the University of Alberta. You can see Board Chair Kate Chisholm’s message about the proceedings and the motions passed this morning.

In summary, the Board approved the establishment of three colleges, bringing together 13 faculties organized around shared disciplinary concerns. The three colleges are: College of Health Sciences, College of Natural and Applied Sciences, and College of Social Sciences and Humanities. Each college will be led by a collegial council of deans and implemented by a seconded college dean. Faculties within the colleges will remain, preserving their unique identity and history, with faculty deans having authority over all academic decisions and budget. Campus Saint-Jean, Augustana, and Faculty of Native Studies remain as stand-alone faculties to preserve and enhance their connections to key communities and partners.

I want to thank the members of both General Faculties Council and the Board of Governors for wrestling with these critical and difficult questions. This week, we witnessed our community making challenging decisions with respect and collegiality.

My sincere thanks again to all of you for your contributions and commitment to the U of A.

Bill Flanagan
President and Vice-Chancellor