About Us

Why Our Faculty

The University of Alberta's Department of Medicine is a recognized leader in innovative education, world-class research and outstanding patient care.

We are the largest department in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry and the biggest at the University of Alberta. More than 800 academic and clinical faculty, students, residents and fellows help achieve our goal of improving health and health care locally and globally. These efforts are supported by more than 300 health, technical and support staff.

The Department of Medicine includes 14 divisions and serves communities throughout Northern Alberta and parts of British Columbia, Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories .

A successful partnership with Alberta Health Services that emphasizes innovation and care allows us to attract the world's top medical minds and researchers to build a successful foundation for the next generation of health care leaders.