Picture of a man holding his wrist


Division of Rheumatology

About Us

Rheumatologists study, diagnose and care for patients with medical and immunological disorders affecting the joints and musculoskeletal system.

The Division of Rheumatology is devoted to providing world class service in clinical care, medical education and research for those with rheumatic disease. Their efforts focus on more than 100 conditions. Increasingly, rheumatologists use immunosuppressive agents and biologics for therapy.

The Division of Rheumatology at the University of Alberta was established in 1968, with Dr. John Percy serving as the first rheumatologist and Divisional Director. Dr. Percy was joined in subsequent years by Dr. Anthony Russell (1971) and Dr. Paul Davis (1975). They served the population needs of both Edmonton and all of Northern Alberta, often travelling to smaller communities to provide their care and expertise. Not only expert clinicians, they were leaders in the field. Between them, they have published more than 500 peer reviewed papers, have served as accomplished leaders at the University, and have been honoured nationally and internationally many times over.

By the 1990s, the Division had doubled in size and today, fifty years later, there are now over 20 rheumatologists serving Edmonton, Northern Alberta, the North West Territories as well as Northwest Saskatchewan and Northeastern British Columbia.

Rheumatologists in Edmonton remain medical leaders and innovators in the field. They provide world class evidenced based care for over one hundred forms of rheumatic disease.

In addition to their clinical role, rheumatologists in Edmonton serve in significant roles in education, leading the training of future physicians and rheumatologists, while ensuring all future doctors have a core understanding of musculoskeletal conditions. They also remain research leaders in the world, involved in the most up to date studies to ensure a better understanding of rheumatic disease and its treatment, publishing dozens of studies annually. Divisional members also serve in many provincial and national roles to promote rheumatology as a profession and improved access to care for our patients.

For more information about us, please visit Alberta Rheumatology.

Contact Information

Divisional Director

Dr. Jan Willem Cohen Tervaert

Executive Assistant

Sareena Prasad
Email: rheumea@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780-492-9388

Booking Clerk - Confirm appointment, changes and cancellations

Phone: 780-492-2121
Fax: 780-492-6088

Prescription requests by fax only


Referral requests by fax only


Clinic Location

3A Medicine Clinic (3rd floor, 11400 University Avenue)