Undergraduate Medical Education

The first two years of medical school are organized in a systems-based integrated curriculum with lectures and small group teaching (Discovery Learning). Department of Medicine members are heavily involved as block directors, lecturers and Discovery Learning instructors.

The Internal Medicine clerkship is an 8-week rotation during the third year of medical school. Students are placed on a clinical teaching unit and learn the fundamentals of history taking, physical examination, formulation of differential diagnosis and patient management. Undergraduate principal teaching physicians at the training sites are Dr. Patricia Araneta, University Hospital, Dr. Kamwardeep Birdi, Grey Nuns Hospital and Dr. Lillian Chan, Royal Alexandra Hospital.

During the fourth year of medical school, students choose a three-week subspecialty selective in Internal Medicine. Options include Cardiology, Pulmonary Medicine, Gastroenterology, Nephrology, Neurology, Rheumatology, General Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases.

Dr. Rebecca Lee
Director, Undergraduate Medical Education

Dr. Rebecca Lee

Dr. Rebecca Lee

UGME Teacher of the Year Award

Nominations for this award are submitted by the medical students rotating through their Medicine clerkship.

Nominations are submitted via MEDSIS - the Faculty of Medicine UME online system.