International Awards and Recognition

IEEE Awards

  • Ashwin Iyer, "Donald G. Dudley Jr. Undergraduate Teaching Award" for introducing innovative teaching methodologies to effectively engage and inspire undergraduate students in engineering electromagnetics, 2015
  • Yunwei Li, Richard M. Bass "Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award" for contributions to Control of Power Electronics in Renewable Energy Systems. Awarded by the IEEE Power Electronic Society, 2013.
  • D. Koval, IEEE Standards Medallion, IEEE Standards Association, 2008. Sponsored by the IEEE Standards Association and administered by the IEEE-SA Awards and Recognition Committee. It's awarded for major contributions to the development of standards. Examples of such contributions may include leadership in standardization of new technologies, assuring achievement of standards development goals, identifying opportunities to better serve the needs of standards users or other such contributions viewed as deserving of this award.
  • W. Pedrycz, EEE Systems Man and Cybernetics Society, "N. Wiener Award", 2007. Sponsored by the IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society, and recognizes significant contributions to research in systems science & engineering, human-machine systems, and/or cybernetics.
  • L. Wyard-Scott and J.A. Smith, 'Solid State Lighting for the Developing World', IEEE Real World Engineering Project Award, 2008;
  • L. Wyard-Scott and J.A. Smith, 'Pico Power Generation for the Developing World', IEEE Real World Engineering Project Award, 2009. The Real World Engineering Project aims to provide university educators in electrical engineering, computer engineering, computer science, biomedical engineering and electrical engineering technology world-wide with a library of high-quality, tested, hands-on team-based society-focused projects for first-year students. These projects are designed to increase the recruitment, persistence to degree, and satisfaction of all students, and particularly women, in baccalaureate engineering and computer science degree programs.

Alex von Humbold Foundation Awards (Germany)

The Humbold foundation award is granted in recognition of a researcher's entire achievements to date to academics whose fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline and who are expected to continue producing cutting-edge achievements in future are eligible to be nominated for a Humboldt Research Award. Award winners are invited to spend a period of up to one year cooperating on a long-term research project with specialist colleagues at a research institution in Germany. The Humboldt Foundation grants up to 100 Humboldt Research Awards annually.

  • A. Lynch, Alex von Humboldt Fellowship, 2009 - 2010.
  • Q. Zhao, Alex von Humboldt Fellowship, 2009.
  • M. Mandal, Alex von Humboldt Fellowship, 2005 - 2006.

Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Awards

Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Award program is designed to enable Japanese researchers to invite distinguished researchers from abroad to Japan to participate in cooperative work and other academic activities.

  • W. Pedrycz, Japan Society for Promotion of Science (JPS) - Senior Fellow, 2005.
  • T. Chen, JSPS Fellowship, 2004, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, 2004.