Research Chairs

Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs program is at the center of a national strategy to make Canada one of the world's top countries in research and development. The program was initiated by the Canadian Government in 2000 to attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds.

  • Tongwen Chen, Canada Research Chair, Tier 1 in "Intelligent Monitoring and Control"
  • Hao Liang, Canada Research Chair, Tier ll in "Intelligent Energy Systems"

University of Alberta Engineering Research Chairs

Industrial Research Chairs

The NSERC Industrial Research Chairs Program was created by the Canadian Government and the Natural Science and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) to assist universities in building on existing strengths to achieve the critical mass required for a major research endeavour in science and engineering of interest to industry.

  • Wilsun Xu, NSERC/iCORE/ Alberta Power Companies Industrial Research Chair in "Power Quality"
  • Bob Fedosejevs, MPBT/NSERC Industrial Research Chair in "Laser and Spectroscopic Techniques Applied to the Natural Resource Industry"

iCORE Chairs-Professorships

iCORE (Informatics Circle of Research Excellence, now part of Alberta Innovates) was established by the Government of Alberta to foster an expanding community of exceptional researchers in the field, Information and Communications Technology (ICT).

  • Wilsun Xu, iCORE Industrial Chair in "Power Quality"