University of Alberta Awards

University Cup

The University Cup, established in 1995, is the highest honour this University can bestow on a member of its academic staff and is granted only to those individuals who have achieved outstanding distinction in each of the areas of scholarly research, teaching, service to the University, and service to the community at large. Thus, the recipient of the University Cup is a leader whose scholarly work has merited international attention; whose teaching and student supervision ability is highly esteemed by colleagues and students alike as exceptional; and who has earned outstanding regard from the community. In brief, the University Cup is intended to provide incentive, encouragement, and guidance for others to significantly contribute to their fields.

  • M. Brett, 2007

Martha Cook-Piper Research Excellence Award

Similar in structure to the J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research, the Martha Cook Piper Research Prize is awarded to recognize faculty members who are at the early stage of their careers, enjoy a reputation for original research, and show outstanding promise as researchers.

  • M. Daneshmand, 2018
  • W. Grover, 1999

Killam Annual Professorship

The Killam Annual Professorships were established in July 1991 to suitably acknowledge the generous Izaak Walton and Dorothy Killam bequest. The award is granted to faculty members based on the quality of their scholarly activities such as teaching, research, publications, creative activities, presented papers, and supervision of graduate students.

  • J. Chen, 2015
  • A. Elezzabi, 2011
  • C Tellambura, 2010
  • T. Chen, 2006
  • W. Xu, 2005
  • S. Dew, 2002
  • M. Brett, 1995

A.G. McCalla Research Professorship Award

These Professorships are named after the first Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research. A professor receiving a McCalla Professorship is to uphold the values of the University of Alberta most recently articulated in Dare to Discover: A Vision for a Greater University andDare to Deliver: Academic Plan 2011-2015. McCalla Professors are those who value excellence in teaching, acknowledge the importance of students, conduct themselves in an ethical manner, are collaborative, open to change, take pride in history and traditions and are committed to integrating their research and teaching.

  • J. Chen, 2016
  • R. Zemp, 2015
  • C. Tellambura, 2012
  • A. Elezzabi, 2004
  • H.J. Marquez, 2003
  • T. Chen, 2000
  • W. Xu, 1999-2001
  • W. Grover, 1996
  • R. Fedosejevs, 1994
  • M. Brett, 1989
  • S. Dew, 1998
  • P. Gould (emeritus) 1982
  • H. Seguin (emeritus) 1981