Mathematical and Statistical Sciences

Academic Staff

If your instructor is not listed here, please look under Instructional Staff.

Name

Title

Office

Contact

Teaching & Research Focus

Jill Bagwe Assistant Chair, Administration CAB 632G-1 780 492-6122
jill.bagwe@ualberta.ca
Arno Berger Professor CAB 683 780 492-3798
berger@ualberta.ca
Dynamical systems and probability theory
Vincent Bouchard Associate Professor, Associate Chair (Undergraduate) CAB 565 vincent.bouchard@ualberta.ca String theory, geometry, and mathematical physics
John Bowman Professor CAB 521 bowman@ualberta.ca Turbulence theory and numerical algorithms
Abel Cadenillas Professor CAB 639 abel@ualberta.ca Mathematical finance, stochastic processes, and control theory
Xi Chen Associate Professor CAB 479 xic@ualberta.ca Algebraic geometry
Vladimir Chernousov Professor (Canada Research Chair) CAB 593 vladimir@ualberta.ca Algebraic groups and Galois cohomology
Keumhee Chough Professor CAB 437 780 492-4230
kccarrie@ualberta.ca
Optimal repeated measurement designs, methods for missing data, and multiple imputations
Tahir Choulli Associate Professor CAB 637 780 492-4230
tchoulli@ualberta.ca
Mathematical finance, and stochastic analysis
Thomas Creutzig Assistant Professor CAB 573 creutzig@ualberta.ca Conformal field theory, modular forms, and lie algebras
Feng Dai Professor CAB 619 fdai@ualberta.ca Analysis
Shawn Desaulniers Faculty Service Officer CAB 689 shawn.desaulniers@ualberta.ca
Gerda de Vries Professor & Associate Chair (Undergraduate) CAB 519 780-492-4561
gerda.devries@ualberta.ca
Mathematical physiology and dynamical systems
Charles Doran Professor CAB 625 charles.doran@ualberta.ca Algebraic geometry and mathematical physics
David Favero Assistant Professor & Canada Research Chair CAB 475 favero@ualberta.ca Algebraic geometry and derived categories
Rosana Fok Faculty Lecturer CAB 485 rfok@ualberta.ca
Eric Foxall Max Wyman Assistant Professor CAB 631 efoxall@ualberta.ca
Christoph Frei Associate Professor CAB 621 cfrei@ualberta.ca Mathematical finance, mathematical economics, and stochastic analysis
Terry Gannon Professor CAB 579 780 492-1784
tjgannon@ualberta.ca
Mathematics associated with conformal theory
Stefan Gille Associate Professor CAB 699 gille@ualberta.ca Quadratic forms and Chow motifs
Sean Graves Faculty Lecturer & Coordinator, Decima Robinson Support Centre CAB 528B 780 492-9028
sgraves@ualberta.ca
Nicolas Guay Associate Professor CAB 665 nguay@ualberta.ca Algebra and representation theory
Bin Han Professor CAB 541 bhan@ualberta.ca Wavelet and framelet analysis, approximation theory, computational harmonic analysis, wavelet-based algorithms, and image Processing
Giseon Heo Associate Professor CAB 482 & 5-548 ECHA gheo@ualberta.ca Applied computational topology, applied functional data analysis, high dimensional data analysis, applied statistics, and multivariate analysis
Thomas Hillen Professor CAB 575 thillen@ualberta.ca Mathematical biology and partial differential equations
Dragos Hrimiuc Associate Professor CAB 585 Contact
dhrimiuc@ualberta.ca
Differential geometry
Yaozhong Hu Centennial Professor CAB 673 yaozhong@ualberta.ca Probability and applications, statistics, stochastic control, mathematical finance
Bei Jiang Assistant Professor CAB 435 bei1@ualberta.ca
Nikita Karpenko Centennial Professor CAB 599 karpenko@ualberta.ca Algebra and algebraic geometry
Rohana Karunamuni Professor CAB 443 Contact
rkarunam@ualberta.ca
Statistics
Adam Kashlak Assistant Professor CAB 433 kashlak@ualberta.ca
Henryk Kolacz Faculty Service Officer (Statistics) CAB 427 hkolacz@ualberta.ca Statistics, self-validating methods, computational statistics
Linglong Kong (Sabbatical) Associate Professor CAB 431 lkong@ualberta.ca Functional and neuroimaging data analysis, robust statistics and quantile regression, and statistical machine learning.
Mike Kouritzin Professor CAB 627 michaelk@ualberta.ca Stochastic processes, probability theory, and applications
Mike Kowalski Faculty Lecturer CAB 487 kowalski@ualberta.ca
Rouslan Krechetnikov Professor CAB 535 & CCIS 3-267 780 492-1926
krechet@ualberta.ca
Applied mathematics, theoretical experimental fluid dynamics, and partial differential equations
Jochen Kuttler Associate Professor; Associate Chair (Graduate Studies & Research) CAB 685 780 492-8203
jochen.kuttler@ualberta.ca
Algebraic transformation groups
Anthony To-Ming Lau Professor CAB 693 780 492-0398
anthonyt@ualberta.ca
Functional analysis
Shubash Lele Professor & Associate Chair (Research) CAB 423 slele@ualberta.ca Statistics, spatial statistics, statistical inference, and applications in ecology and public health
E. K. Leonard Faculty Lecturer CAB 679 eleonard@ualberta.ca
James D. Lewis Professor CAB 623 lewisjd@ualberta.ca Algebraic geometry and algebraic cycles
Mark Lewis (Sabbatical) Professor (Canada Research Chair) CAB 545-B & CCIS 1-279 780 492-0197
mark.lewis@ualberta.ca
Mathematical biology and ecology
Michael Yi Li Professor CAB 643 myli@ualberta.ca Ordinary differential equations, dynamical systems, and mathematical modeling of infectious diseases
Alexander Litvak Professor CAB 525 alitvak@ualberta.ca Asymptotic geometric analysis
David McNeilly Facutly Service Officer CAB 629 780 492-3815
dm15@ualberta.ca
Representation theory
Alexander Melnikov Professor CAB 589 melnikov@ualberta.ca Mathematical finance
Peter D. Minev Professor CAB 677 780 492-3398
minev@ualberta.ca
Numerical methods and computational fluid dynamics
Ivan Mizera (Sabbatical) Professor & Director, Statistical Services Centre (Statistics Division) CAB 441 imizera@ualberta.ca Statistics
Jay Newby Assistant Professor CAB 529 jnewby@ualberta.ca Development of mechanistic stochastic models of molecular motion, biomechanics, and chemistry in micron-scale environments such as cells and extracellular polymer matrices.
Enver Osmanagic Faculty Lecturer CAB 481 enver@ualberta.ca
Brendan Pass Assistant Professor CAB 571 pass@ualberta.ca Optimal transport and its connections to geometry, mathematical economics, and mathematical physics
Manish Patnaik Associate Professor & M.V. Subbarao Professor of Number Theory CAB 577 patnaik@ualberta.ca Automorphic forms and loop groups
George Peschke Associate Professor CAB 543 george.peschke@ualberta.ca Algebraic topology, homological algebra, and homotopy theory
Arturo Pianzola Professor, Department Chair CAB 615 & CAB 632-1 a.pianzola@ualberta.ca Applications of Galois cohomology to infinite dimensional lie theory
Vakhtang Putkaradze Centennial Professor & Site Director, Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS) CAB 597 putkarad@ualberta.ca Nonlinear models in physical systems
Volker Runde Professor CAB 675 vrunde@ualberta.ca Functional analysis and abstract harmonic analysis
Zhongwei Shen Max Wyman Assistant Professor CAB 460 zhongwei@ualberta.ca
Mazi Shirvani Professor CAB 611 mshirvan@ualberta.ca Algebra
Gordon E. Swaters Professor CAB 537 gordon.swaters@ualberta.ca Geophysical fluid dynamics
George Tokarsky Faculty Lecturer CAB 469 tokarsky@ualberta.ca
Adam Topaz Assistant Professor CAB 517 topaz@ualberta.ca arithmetic and algebraic geometry, Galois theory, and Anabelian geometry
Vladimir Troitsky Professor CAB 511 troitsky@ualberta.ca Functional analysis and theory of operators
Beatrice-Helen Vritsiou Assistant Professor CAB 533 vritsiou@ualberta.ca Asymptotic geometry analysis
Hao Wang Associate Professor CAB 539 hao8@ualberta.ca Mathematical biology and differential equations
Matthew Wiersma Max Wyman Assistant Professor CAB 617 mwiersma@ualberta.ca Abstract harmonic analysis and operator algebras
Yau Shu Wong Professor CAB 681 780 492-4376
yaushu.wong@ualberta.ca
Applied mathematics
Eric Woolgar Faculty Service Officer (Mathematics) CAB 669 780 492-2487
ewoolgar@ualberta.ca
Mathematical physics and relativity theory
Vladyslav Yaskin Associate Professor CAB 583 yaskin@ualberta.ca Convex geometry and geometric functional analysis
Yingfei Yi Killam Memorial Chair CAB 501 780 492-0215
yingfei@ualberta.ca
Dynamical systems and differential equations
Xinwei Yu Associate Professor CAB 527 xinwei.yu@ualberta.ca Partial differential equations and fluid mechanics