Awards & Accolades - September 2017

Celebrating the achievements of faculty, staff and students.

Kirsten Bauer - 19 September 2017

The new academic year brings a wealth of award announcements. Congratulations to all on your accomplishments.

Royal Society of Canada

Lori West, Canada Research Chair in Cardiac Transplantation, has been named a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, as well as Chair of the CIHR Standing committee on ethics.


David Wishart, appointed to the faculties of Science, Medicine & Dentistry, Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Computing Science, has also been appointed fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

Justin Ezekowitz, Cardiology and co-director of the Canadian VIGOUR Centre, will be honoured with membership in the Royal Society of Canada's College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. Read more.

Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

The 2017 Canadian Academy of Health Sciences induction ceremony was held in Ottawa on September 14, 2017. Congratulations to inductees Dean Befus, Division of Pulmonary Medicine, Sumit Majumdar, General Internal Medicine, and Ross Tsuyuki, Division of Cardiology.

Alberta Medical Association

Sangita Sharma, Endowed Chair in Indigenous Health, has received the Alberta Medical Association Medal of Honour.

David (Shaun) Gray, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, has earned a Medal for Distinguished Service.

Daniel M. Li, Psychiatry, was honoured with the Award for Compassionate Service.

Specialty Awards

Congratulations to the School of Dentistry's Ysidora Torrealba on the Gibb Clinical Teaching Award and Ava Chow, recipient of the Gibb Teaching Scholar award. Read more.

Lalit Saini, Hematology, has received a New Idea Award from the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of Canada to develop her innovative research.

Leo Dieleman, Division of Gastroenterology, has received the Alberta Society of Gastroenterology's Distinguished Researcher Award.

Award ceremony 3.JPG

Dilini Vethanayagam, Pulmonary Medicine, received the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award.

Division of Infectious Diseases:

Ryan Cooper received the Bob Mills Community Leadership Award from HIV Edmonton.

Jutta Preiksaitis was honoured with the 2017 Canadian Society of Transplantation Lifetime Achievement Award.

Geoff Taylor was recognized by the University of Regina with the Alumni Crowning Achievement Award - Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ami Singhand Nelson Lee were named Fellows of the Infectious Diseases Society of America (FIDSA) based on their leadership in their respective fields, in their community as well as in their institution.

Alumni Awards

The 2017 Alumni Awards Ceremony takes place on Monday, September 25, 2017. Congratulations to the FoMD's 2017 honourees:

Lorne Warneke, '63 BSc (HonsCert), '67 MD - Distinguished Alumni Award

William Patton,'86 BMedSc, '88 MD - Alumni Honour Award

Nicole Cardinal, '12 MD - Alumni Horizon Award

David Otto, '86 BMedSc, '88 MD - Sports Wall of Fame

Students, Fellows, and trainees

Kyle Potts, Oncology graduate student, is the winner of the July 2017 Med Star Graduate Student Award.

Hanyong Peng, Laboratory Medicine and Pathology postdoctoral fellow, won the July 2017 Med Star Award for Fellows.

Mackenzie Coatham, Obstetrics & Gynecology graduate student, received the Alberta Innovates Graduate Studentship. Read more.

Megan Beggs, Physiology research fellow, received the Alberta Innovates Clinician Fellowship. Megan is also a 2017 Vanier Canada Scholar.

Laura Lee, Oncology graduate student, received the Alberta Innovates MD-PhD studentship.

Congratulations to the winners of the Motyl Graduate Studentships in cardiac sciences:

Adekunle Alabi, Biochemistry

Kim Ho, Pediatrics

Yuli Berlin-Broner, Dentistry

Carmel Montgomery, Medicine

Fourth-year MD/MBA student Qaasim Mian, is the only Canadian student to receive the ASTMH 2017 Benjamin H. Kean Travel Fellowship in Tropical Medicine, to pursue studies in Uganda. Well done!

QM profile.jpg

Know an outstanding U of A grad? Nominate them for a 2018 Alumni Award

University of Alberta alumni around the globe uphold our promise to use their education "for the public good" through their professional achievements, community service and innovation. The Alumni Awards recognize these contributions and tells the stories of our exceptional alumni, inspiring us all to Do Great Things.

Help us recognize these outstanding alumni!

Nomination deadline: December 15, 2017

Questions: or 780-492-4523 Toll free: 1-800-661-2593