Awards and Accolades - November 2018

Celebrating the achievements of faculty, staff and students

Kirsten Bauer - 22 November 2018

As the days get shorter, your unique successes make the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry shine.

Faculty Recognition

G. Fred MacDonald, Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine (retired), has been honoured with a City of Edmonton Salute to Excellence Community Service Citation Award.

Jesse Jackson, Department of Physiology, and his colleague Romain Goutagny, University of Strasbourg, received a prestigious grant from the International Associated Laboratory program of the Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) in France. The five-year grant provides funds to support travel between the two laboratories to foster international collaboration. To date, only five out of 38 grants have been awarded in Canada.

Andrew Ting, Department of Ophthalmology, received the Bartley R. Frueh Award for Best YASOPRS Presentation from the the American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery.

Ian MacDonald, Department of Ophthalmology, is the recipient of the Foundation Fighting Blindness Founder's Award.

Neeja Bakshi, Department of Medicine, was a finalist in the 2018 Sherwood Park and District Business Awards, in the category of "Innovation: New Large Business, Product, Service or Work System," for her clinic Park Integrative Health.

Administrative Excellence

Sherry Sweeney, Assessment Specialist in the MD Program, was awarded the U of A's 2018 Excellence in Learning Support Award.

Eleni Karageorgos, Department of Medicine, was awarded the U of A's Support Staff Research Enhancement Award.

Avenue Magazine Top 40 under 40

Congratulations to all who were recognized by Avenue Magazine as Edmonton's Top 40 under 40!

  • Grayson Beecher- '15 MD, neurology resident, Department of Medicine.

  • Vijay Daniels - Assistant Dean, Assessment for the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry.

  • Steven Katz - Associate Professor, Department of Medicine.

  • Michiko Maruyama - '08 Arts (BDes), Cardiac Surgery resident and current MA student.

  • Scott Phillips - Assistant Chair, Administration, Department of Psychiatry.

  • Irehobhude Iyioha - Assistant Adjunct Professor, John Dossetor Health Ethics Centre

  • Michael Sharp - '04 MSc, Parlee McLaws LLP

Celebration of Teaching and Learning

Congratulations to the award winners celebrated on November 6, 2018!

Ramona Kearney, Associate Dean, PGME, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, received the E.N. Skakun Award for service to education.

The MD program's curriculum innovation team-Hollis Lai, Cody Surgin, Mikus Lorencs, Gregory Chao, Sherry Sweeney, Jennifer Kam and Tracey Hillier-were awarded the David Cook Award.

Sandy Widder, Department of Surgery, and Angela Juby, Department of Medicine, were each awarded the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry Excellence in Humanism Award.

Residents Noah Switzer, Joseph (Emerson) Marinas, Megan Bach, Vincent Lee, Elizabeth Clement and Alexandra Rydz received the Arnold P. Gold Foundation - Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards (HETA).

Emily Chapman, MD Class of '21, was selected as best poster in the student category for her poster entitled An examination of trends in patient-centered care, specific to the treatment of substance misuse and mental health conditions, using data from a family medicine residency program.

The Department of Surgery's Bin Zhang received best poster in the faculty category.

Terry Carlyle, School of Dentistry, received the Bulyea Cup Award.

Alexandra Sheppard, School of Dentistry, was awarded the W. W. Wood Award and the Gibb Teaching Scholar Award.

Amanda Van Spronsen, Valentin Villatora, and Chris Ward, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, received the Medical Laboratory Students Association Excellence in Teaching Award.

Wendy Male, School of Dentistry, received the Marilyn Pawluk-Mabey award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching.

Students, Residents and Trainees

Qaasim Mian, Department of Pediatrics resident, has won second prize in the Infectious Diseases Society of America Idea Incubator competition for the solar-powered oxygen innovation developed with supervisor Michael Hawkes.

Rabih Abou Farraj, PhD student in the Department of Biochemistry, received the 2018 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Canada Inc. Graduate Scholarship.

David Kramer, PhD student in the Department of Biochemistry, was awarded the 2018 Madsen Thesis Prize for best Biochemistry PhD thesis.

Chris Koo, Family Medicine resident, was awarded the 2018 Family Medicine Resident Leadership Award from the Alberta College of Family Physicians.

Cameron Griffiths(Supervisor David Marchant), Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, was awarded the RSV2018 Young Investigator award for his plenary presentation at the RSV2018 meeting in Asheville North Carolina, USA, Nov. 1, 2018.

Matthew Benson, resident in the Department of Ophthalmology, received the Clinician-Scientist Emerging Leader Award from the Foundation Fighting Blindness.

Roxoliana Tsisar, Department of Psychiatry (supervisor Maryana Kravtsenyuk), received the Best Poster Award at the 5th. Bergen International Conference on Forensic Psychiatry for her poster Prevalence of Developmental Disabilities and Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder in Adult Forensic Psychiatric Patients.

Jenna-Lynn Senger, resident and PhD candidate in the Department of Surgery, was awarded the inaugural Golden Scalpel Award from the Canadian Association of Chairs of Surgical Research for the best trainee research abstract and presentation at the CACSR Conference.

Lily Lin, former clinical fellow and MSc student in the Department of Pediatrics, won the the Richard Rowe Award at the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress in Toronto. This national-level annual award is given to the top trainee research presentation within pediatric cardiac sciences.

Kristen Timm and Vanessa Rogers, Department of Family Medicine, were named Professional Association of Resident Physicians of Alberta (PARA) Resident Physicians of the month.

Dentistry Class of '88 Leadership Awards:

  • Kevin Amaniampong, DDS class of 2019

  • Suraj Chavda, DDS class of 2019

  • Kelsey Won, DDS class of 2020

  • Jennifer Drever, DDS class of 2021

Above: (left to right)Albert Tung, Dr. Hanif Asaria, Kelsey Wong (Yr 3), Dr. Alan Chang, Suraj
Chavda (Yr 4), Jennifer Drever (Yr 2) and Kevin Amaniampong (Yr 4).

Know an outstanding U of A grad?

Do Great Things is both the promise and the challenge of our Alumni Association. The University of Alberta Alumni Awards recognize the professional achievements, community service and innovation of graduates around the globe.

Help us recognize these outstanding University of Alberta grads by nominating them for an Alumni Award.

Nomination deadline: December 15, 2018

Contact:, 780-492-4523