Awards & Accolades - September 2018

Celebrating the achievements of faculty, staff and students

Kirsten Bauer - 20 September 2018

With the arrival of fall, we extend a warm welcome to the FoMD's new students. Congratulations to the alumni, faculty and trainees being recognized this month, and best of luck for another incredible semester.

Faculty Recognition

Andy Holt, departments of Pharmacology and Psychiatry, has received the prestigious Rang Prize for significant contribution to the teaching of pharmacology, from the British Pharmacological Society.

David Olson, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology and member of the Women and Children's Health Institute (WCHRI), and John Mackey, Department of Oncology and Cancer research Institute of Northern Alberta (CRINA), have been named fellows of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS).

Mark Joffe, Department of Infectious Diseases, was named Fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America.

Luke Savage, '08 MD, Department of Family Medicine, received the Professional Association of Resident Physicians of Alberta (PARA) Clinical Teaching Award.

Kerry Courneya, Department of Oncology, is the co-recipient of the O. Harold Warwick Prize for outstanding achievements in cancer control research from the Canadian Cancer Society. Read more about his research here.

College of Family Physicians of Canada Awards (CFPC)

Congratulations to those in the Department of Family Medicine who received 2018 CFPC awards:

Michel Donoff - Ian McWhinney Family Medicine Education Award

Michael Allan - Reg. L Perkin Family Physician of the Year

Poulami Banerjee - Family Medicine Resident Awards for Scholarly Achievement

Kiranpal Dhillon - Family Medicine Resident Leadership Award

Jeremy Christensen - Medical Student Leadership Award

Shehzad Kassam - Medical Student Scholarship

Alberta Medical Association Awards

Carol Cass, Professor Emerita, Department of Oncology, has been awarded the Alberta Medical Association Medal of Honor. IMAGE and link

Norman Kneteman, Department of Surgery, received the Alberta Medical Association Medal for Distinguished Service.

Department of Pediatrics

Congratulations to Iram Usman and RhondaRosychuk on winning best contributed poster by the Statistical Consulting Section of the American Statistical Association at the 2018 Joint Statistical Meeting, for the poster Perspectives from a Recent Graduate on Consulting in an Academic Medical Setting.

Congratulations to the winners of the Kids Brain Health Network Research Awards:

  • Co-Investigators: John Andersen and François Bolduc - iCAN Integrative Canadian Neurodiversity Platform

  • Lonnie Zwaigenbaum - Extending the Reach of Early Intervention: Social ABCs Community Translation and Dissemination

  • Principal Investigator: François Bolduc, Participants: Lonnie Zwaigenbaum, Gail Andrew, Lawrence Richer ('96 MD) and Brenda Clark - Canadian Network for Personalized Interventions in Intellectual Disability

June 6, 2018 Department of Pediatrics Faculty Appreciation and Recognition Dinner:

  • Eileen Estrabillo, '98 MD, '09 MSc - Annual Best Teacher Award in Community Pediatrics

  • Breanne Frolich, Isabelle Chapados - Annual Excellence in Teaching Award in Community Pediatrics

  • Division of Gastroenterology & Nutrition - Undergraduate Medical Education Annual Best Teaching Division Award

  • Division of Nephrology - Undergraduate Medical Education Annual Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Division Award

  • Dawn Davies - Annual Teaching Award by Subspecialty Residents.

  • Daniel Garros - Pediatric Grand Rounds Award for his lecture Septic Shock: I got it?!

  • Janet Ellsworth - Annual Mentoring Award

  • David Eisenstat - Academic Faculty Research Paper Award - GABAergic Intereuron Differentiation in the Basal Forebrain is Mediated through Direct Regulation of Glutamic Acid Decarboxlase Isoforms by Dix Homeobox Transcription Factors

  • Samina Ali - Academic Faculty Research Paper Award - Oral Analgesics Utilization for Children With Musculoskeletal Injury (OUCH Trial): An RCT

Undergraduate Medical Education Top 10 Teachers Award:

  • Mohammad Ansarian

  • Elizabeth DeBruyne

  • Karen Forbes

  • Jessica Foulds

  • Alicja Wladyslawa Janicka

  • Mia Lang, '99 MD

  • Jacqueline Lee, '99 MD

  • Aaron Moodley

  • Jillian Popel, '12 MD

  • Hasu Rajani

June 6, 2018 Department of Pediatrics Trainee Farewell and Awards Dinner:

  • Cynthia Gunaratnam, Kylie Bernstein and Maryam Kebbe - Sarah Lopaschuk Memorial Award

  • Devin Chetan and Cynthia Gunaratnam - Azza M. Darwish Memorial

  • Christopher Novak - Mario I. and Elizabeth Tedeschini Scholarship

  • Anne Marie Denny and Ratika Srivastava - E.W. Gauk Scholarship

  • Richelle Wright - William C. Taylor Award for Improvement in Medical Education

  • Lily Lin - Quinlan Patric Baxter Langen Award

  • Daniela Migliarese Isaac - Stollery/Shriners Clinical Research Fellowship

  • Esther Jun and Chelsea Morin - Department of Pediatrics Grand Rounds Award - Food Allergies: Debunking Common Myths

  • Dax Rumsey - Teacher of the Year, Subspecialty Pediatrician

  • Jessica Foulds - Teacher of the Year, General Pediatrician

  • Jessica Foulds - Resident Well-being Award

Students, Residents and Trainees

MD/MBA student Michael Taylor is the 2018 recipient of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Award.

Yuli Berlin-Broner, School of Dentistry MSc student, received the inaugural International Association of Dental Traumatology (IADT) case report award. Well done!

Douglas Brown, Department of Oncology PhD candidate, won the 2018 UAlberta Falling Walls Lab, earning him a place at finals in Berlin, Germany. Good luck!

2018 Alumni Awards Ceremony

Please join us in celebrating the outstanding achievements of the FoMD's Alumni Award winners at the 2018 Alumni Awards Ceremony. Register now.

  • Marcia Boyd, '69 DDS: Distinguished Alumni Award for her contributions to the field of dentistry, dental education and stewardship of the dental profession

  • Charles Lee, '90 BSc(Spec), '93 MSc, '96 PhD: Distinguished Alumni Award for his role in the discovery of structural variation in the human genome

  • Lindsay (Lynden) Crowshoe, '93 BMedSc, '95 MD: Alumni Honour Award for his dedication to Indigenous health and founding of Elbow River Healing Lodge

  • Ronald Brian Moore, '80 BSc, '86 MD, '91 PhD: Alumni Honour Award for his contributions as a surgeon-scientist specializing in urological cancers and renal transplantations

  • Barbara Romanowski, '71 BSc(Med), '73 MD: Alumni Honour Award for her contributions to establishing HIV Edmonton and Edmonton's STI clinic and her instrumental role in the development and distribution of the HPV vaccine

  • Brenda Walker, '71 Dipl(DentHyg): Alumni Honour Award for her work as one of the driving forces for advances in dental hygiene, including lobbying and advocating for dental hygiene to become a self-regulating profession

  • Lisa Hartling, '90 BScPT, '10 PhD: Alumni Innovation Award for TREKK (Translating Emergency Knowledge for Kids), which improves emergency care for children and their families. Hartling is receiving this award with Shannon Scott, Faculty of Nursing.

Event Details

Monday, Sept. 24, 2018 at the Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium

Doors: 6:30 p.m.

Ceremony: 7 p.m.

Reception: 8:30 - 10 p.m.

Free public event, guests are welcome.

For more information or to register groups of 20 or more: