Awards and Accolades - April 2019

Celebrating the achievements of our faculty, staff and students.

Kirsten Bauer - 08 April 2019

Faculty Recognition

Samina Ali, Department of Pediatrics, Women and Children's Health Research Institute (WCHRI), is the recipient of a 2019-2020 Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship.

Kerry Courneya, Department of Oncology, Cancer Research Institute of Northern Alberta (CRINA) member, Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport and Recreation, is the recipient of 2019 Manulife Prize for the Promotion of Active Health.

Christian Beaulieu, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute (NMHI) and WCHRI member, was elected Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE).

Vijay Daniels, Department of Medicine, was named 2019-2020 McCalla Professor.

William (Bill) Anderson, Radiology and Diagnostic Imaging, was named Fellow of the Canadian Association of Radiologists.

Students, Residents and Trainees

Congratulations to MD students Paul Barber and Victor Do on being named University of Alberta Wellness Champions.

Matthew Doan, (supervisor Chris Power) NMHI graduate student, is the recipient of the Frederick Banting and Charles Best Canada Graduate Scholarship.

David Roszko, (supervisor Vivian Mushahwar) NMHI graduate student, received the Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarship.

Michiko Maruyama, Cardiac Surgery Resident, was named Global Woman of vision. Watch the video below to learn more about her outstanding accomplishments.

Know someone incredible under 40?

Avenue Magazine's Top 40 Under 40 list honours individuals under the age of 40 who are excelling in their careers, giving back to the community and raising the profile of the capital region. Read about past winners and nominate someone here. Nominations are open until April 30, 2019.

Alberta Medical Association (AMA) Achievement Awards

The AMA achievement awards celebrate those who have contributed to advancing medical science and raised the standards of health care in Alberta. With categories for physicians and non-physicians, there are opportunities to recognize the many ways that members of our faculty have shaped Alberta's medical system.

Click here to nominate by May 15, 2019.