Awards & Accolades - February 2019

Celebrating the achievements of our faculty, staff and students.

Kirsten Bauer - 22 February 2019

Faculty Recognition

Congratulations to the following winners of the 2019 Great Supervisor Awards!

  • Ing Swie Goping, Department of Biochemistry

  • Georg Schmolzer and Justine Turner, Department of Pediatrics

  • Ian Winship, Department of Psychiatry

  • Gino Fallone, Department of Oncology

  • Lawrence Le, Department of Radiology and Diagnostic Imaging

  • Tom Churchill, Department of Surgery

Maryam Sharifzadeh-Amin, School of Dentistry, has been named 2019 American Dental Education Association Leadership Fellow.

Paige Lacy, Alberta Respiratory Centre (ARC) Research Director, was awarded the 2019 Michelle Harkness Mentorship Award for Mentoring Excellence.

Tarek El-Bialy, School of Dentistry, has been named Fellow of the Pierre Fauchard Academy.

Scott Garrison, Department of Family Medicine, is the recipient of the North American Primary Care Research Group (NAPCRG)/ Australasian Association for Academic Primary Care (AAAPC) Travel Prize. He will be officially recognized at the summer 2019 meeting in Adelaide, Australia.

Lisa Hartling, Department of Pediatrics and Shannon Scott, Faculty of Nursing, received special commendations for their CIHR IHDCYH Talks video on ear infections Mom! My ear hurts: What to do when your child has ear pain.

Roxanne Chow and Don Weber, Department of Surgery, are recognized with the Dr. John McIvor Orthopaedic Surgery Teacher of the Year Award.

September 2018 CIHR Project Grants

Full Grants

  • Kristi Baker, Department of Oncology - Chemokine-mediated control of anti-tumor immunity in DNA-repair deficient colorectal cancer - $765,000

  • Deborah N Burshtyn, Department of Medical Genetics; Carlos Cervera, Department of Medicine; Atul Humar, Department of Medicine - LILRB1 Genetic Variation and the Response to Human Cytomegalovirus - $623,475

  • Jason Dyck, Department of Pediatrics - The Role of Adipose Tissue Inflammation and Lipolysis in the Pathogenesis of Heart Failure - $716,040

  • Roseline Godbout, Department of Oncology - Understanding Cellular Response to Stress: Role of DEAD Box 1 - $898,875

  • Karen J. Goodman, Department of Medicine - Community-driven Helicobacter pylori genomics investigation of the disproportionate H. pylori-associated disease burden among northern Indigenous Canadians - $875,925

  • Andrea Gruneir, Department of Family Medicine; Carole Anne Estabrooks, Faculty of Nursing, Matthias Hoben,; James L Silvius - Longitudinal Monitoring for Quality of Care at the End of Life in Nursing Homes - $512,551

  • Michael J. Hendzel, Department of Oncology - Structure-function relationships at DNA double-strand break repair centers - $837,675

  • Tom Hobman, Department of Cell Biology - Alphavirus-host interactions: Toward novel antiviral therapies - $1,137,940

  • Basil P. Hubbard, Department of Pharmacology - Improving the specificity of CRISPR/Cas9 using chemically-modified guide RNAs - $914,175

  • Bradley Kerr, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine - Understanding the contribution of the peripheral nervous system to central neuropathic pain - $669,375

  • Thomas Simmen, Department of Cell Biology - Revisiting the Mitochondria-Associated Membrane: Redox Controls Tethers - $799,425

  • Michael K. Stickland, Department of Medicine - Asthma exacerbations, exercise and vascular function - $673,200

  • Christine A. Webber, Department of Surgery; K. Ming Chan, Department of Medicine - Electrical stimulation prior to nerve transection and surgical repair promotes nerve regeneration and functional recovery in a manner exceeding a conditioning lesion - $612,000

  • Frank Wuest, Department of Oncology - Molecular imaging of autotaxin: Targeting the crossroad of cancer and inflammation - $707,625

Bridge Grants

  • Mark Glover, Department of Biochemistry - Role of BRCT proteins in DNA damage signaling - $100,000

  • Sangita Sharma, Department of Medicine; André Corriveau, Institute for Health Economics - Caring and Responding in the Northwest Territories - $100,000

  • Sangita Sharma, Department of Medicine; Stephanie Irlbacher-Fox - Assessing vitamin D intake and status among peoples with different skin pigmentation in Yellowknife - $100,000

Priority Announcements

  • Rachel Khadaroo, Department of Surgery; Jayna M Holroyd-Leduc; Catherine A. Jones, Alberta Health Services; Daniel I McIsaac; Adrian S Wagg, Department of Family Medicine - Elder-friendly BEdside reconditioning for Functional ImprovemenTs (BE FIT) following Surgery Study - $100,000

Congratulations to the winners of the University Hospital Foundation Medical Research Competition (UHFMRC) awardees. Click here for a complete list of winners.

Students, Residents and Trainees

Raheel Syed, PGY-6 Resident, Department of Psychiatry, has been selected as the recipient of the 2019 Canadian Academy of Psychiatry and the Law (CAPL) Fellowship Award. She will present on the implications of solitary confinement at the CAPL annual meeting in Montreal in May.

Yerly Paola Sanchez Perdomo, graduate student, Surgical Simulation Research Lab, is the recipient of a Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship.

Wenjing He, PhD candidate, Surgical Simulation Research Lab, received the Matics Global link award.

The Women & Children's Health Research Institute (WCHRI) is pleased to congratulate the following trainees on their postdoctoral fellowships:

  • Babak Afsharipour, Department of Biomedical Engineering (Supervisor Monica Ann Gorassini) - Development of spinal circuits in cerebral palsy

  • Vivian Biancardi, Department of Physiology (Co-Supervisors Gregory Funk, Silvia Pagliardini) - Understanding brain mechanisms that stimulate breathing when brain oxygen falls

  • Tamara Saez, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology (Co-Supervisors Sandra Davidge, Maria Ospina) - Discovering the mechanisms of abnormal blood vessel function in the pregnancy complication preeclampsia