Areas of Strength

The Philosophy Department at the University of Alberta is small, but offers a well-rounded program in many areas of philosophy. These include the traditional areas of metaphysics, ethics, logic, and the history of philosophy, especially ancient, medieval and early modern. Besides these areas, we have particular strengths in the philosophy of science, philosophy of mind, aesthetics, political philosophy, environmental ethics, Indian philosophy, and certain areas of continental philosophy. For a list of faculty members working in specific research areas, visit Research Areas page.

There is currently one Canada Research Chair in the Department: Ingo Brigandt holds a Tier 2 CRC in Philosophy of Biology. Several members of the department hold grants from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. To learn more about currently funded projects, visit our Funded Research page.