This page lists our faculty members. You will find information regarding other academics (adjunct and affiliated faculty, postdoctoral fellows, academic teaching staff, and emeriti and retired faculty), administrative staff and graduate students on each of their corresponding pages.

Katalin Bimbo
PhD, Indiana University, Bloomington


Specialization:Logic (philosophical, mathematical, computational) and Foundations of Mathematics, Philosophy of Computer Science and Informatics.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-69, (780) 492-3307

Ingo Brigandt
PhD, University of Pittsburgh

Professor & Associate Chair (Graduate Studies) & Canada Research Chair in Philosophy of Biology

Specialization: Philosophy of Biology, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Feminist Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Language.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-47, (780) 492-9030
E-mail: brigandt@ualberta.ca

Phil Corkum
PhD, University of California,
Los Angeles

Associate Professor

Specialization: Ancient Philosophy, Metaphysics.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-66, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: phil.corkum@ualberta.ca

Neil Dalal
PhD, University of Texas, Austin

Associate Professor (Joint appointment: Philosophy and Religious Studies)

Specialization: Indian Philosophy, Advaita Vedanta, Yoga, Hinduism, History of Indian Religions.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-68, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: ndalal@ualberta.ca
Marie-Eve Morin
Dr. Phil, Albert-Ludwigs Universität Freiburg

Professor & Chair

Specialization: 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Post-Structuralism, Deconstruction, Phenomenology, Existentialism, Structuralism, Philosophy of Literature.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-55, (780) 492-0616
E-mail: mmorin1@ualberta.ca

Howard Nye
PhD, University of Michigan

Associate Professor & Honors Advisor

Specialization: Metaethics, Moral Psychology, Normative Ethics, Political Philosophy, and Applied Ethics.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-59, (780) 492-8554
E-mail: hnye@ualberta.ca

Geoffrey Rockwell
PhD, University of Toronto

Professor (Joint appointment: Philosophy and Digital Humanities)

Specialization: Humanities Computing, Text Analysis and Philosophy of Technology.
Office: 3-37 Arts & Convocation Hall, (780) 248-1209
E-mail: geoffrey.rockwell@ualberta.ca. Blog: theoreti.ca

Amy Schmitter
PhD, University of Pittsburgh


Specialization:History of Early Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Art, History of Metaphysics, History of the Emotions, Feminist Approaches to the History of Philosophy.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-70, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: amy.schmitter@ualberta.ca

Jennifer Welchman
PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Professor & Undergraduate Program Director 

Specialization:Ethics, History of Ethics, Environmental Ethics, Aesthetics
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-69, (780) 492-3307

Jack Zupko
PhD, Cornell University


Specialization: Medieval Philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-63, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: zupko@ualberta.ca