Philosophy

Graduate Students

Peter Andes
(PhD)

Areas of interest:
Ethics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Science, Epistemology, and Philosophy of Religion
E-mail: andes@ualberta.ca

Ali Azizi
(PhD)
Areas of interest:
Philosophy of Science (Scientific Realism vs Anti-realism debate), Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Science and Religion, Islamic Philosophy (Avicenna, Al-Farabi, Mulla Sadra)
E-mail: aazizi@ualberta.ca
Danielle Brown
(PhD)
E-mail: dlbrown@ualberta.ca
Emma Peng Chien
(PhD)
Areas of interest:
Philosophy of Science (Scientific Realism vs Anti-realism debate), Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Science and Religion, Islamic Philosophy (Avicenna, Al-Farabi, Mulla Sadra)
E-mail: emma.chien@ualberta.ca

Hui-Ming Chin
(PhD)

Areas of interest:
Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Consciousness Study, Social and Political Philosophy
E-mail: huiming1@ualberta.ca
Stephanie Dover
(MA)
Areas of interest:
Philosophy of Gender, Philosophy of Race, Feminist Theory, Identity Politics, Wittgenstein
E-mail: sdover@ualberta.ca
Vladimir Dukic
(PhD)
Areas of interest:
20th Century Continental Philosophy (Hermeneutics, Phenomenology, Post-structuralism), History of Philosophy, Philosophy of Language
E-mail: dukic@ualberta.ca
Francisco Galan
(MA)

Areas of interest:
Metaethics, Ethics (especially theory and practice of effective altruism)
E-mail: galantam@ualberta.ca
LinkedIn

Nicholas Ferenz
(PhD)
E-mail: ferenz@ualberta.ca
Ataollah Hashemi
(MA)

Areas of interest:
Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Logic, History of Analytic Philosophy, Islamic Philosophy
E-mail: ataollah@ualberta.ca

Zi Yun Huang
(MA)
Areas of interest:
Philosophy of Biology, Phenomenology, Henri Bergson, Philosophy of Science
E-mail: zyh@ualberta.ca
Ka Ho Lam
(PhD)
E-mail: kaho2@ualberta.ca
Cheryl Mack
(PhD)
Areas of interest:
Medical Ethics, Philosophy of Biology, Philosophy of Mind
E-mail: mack1@ualberta.ca
Luke McNulty
(PhD)
Areas of interest:
20th Century Analytic Philosophy (esp. Wittgenstein), 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Ethics
E-mail: mcnulty@ualberta.ca
Roxane Noel
(MA)
Areas of interest:
Medieval Philosophy, Metaphysics, Epistemology, Feminist Philosophy
E-mail: nol@ualberta.ca
Taro Okamura
(PhD)                                      

Areas of interest:
Early Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind
E-mail:taro@ualberta.ca

Clarisse Paron
(MA)

Areas of interest:
Applied Ethics, Philosophy of the Mind and Epistemology
E-mail: clarisse@ualberta.ca

Timothy Put
(MA)
E-mail: tput@ualberta.ca
Esther Rosario
(PhD)

Areas of interest:
Philosophy of Biology, Feminist Philosophy, Feminist Metaphysics, Feminist Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics of Science
E-mail: erosario@ualberta.ca

Matthew Rose
(MA)

Areas of interest:
Philosophy of Medicine, Philosophy of Healthcare Ethics and Social Justice
E-mail: mdrose@ualberta.ca

Jackson Sawatzky
(MA)
E-mail: jlsawatz@ualberta.ca
Meysam Shojaeenejad
(MA)

Areas of interest:
Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Foundations of cognitive Science, Philosophy of Logic
E-mail: shojaeen@ualberta.ca

Mattia Sorgon
(PhD)
Areas of interest:
Metaphysics, Philosophical Logic
E-mail: sorgon@ualberta.ca
Joshua St. Pierre
(PhD)

Areas of interest:
Social and Political Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Philosophy of Disability, 20th Century Continental Philosophy
E-mail: jstpierr@ualberta.ca

Elzbieta Szymanska-Swiatek
(PhD)
E-mail: es3@ualberta.ca
Selcuk KaanTabakci
(MA)

Areas of interest:
Metaphysics, Logic, Philosophy of Logic, Early Modern Philosophy
E-mail: tabakci@ualberta.ca

Jay Worthy
(PhD)

Area of interest:
Continental Philosophy
E-mail: jworthy@ualberta.ca

Yuan-chieh Yang
(PhD)

Areas of interest:
Aesthetics, Social and Political Philosophy
E-mail: yyang19@ualberta.ca

Ceren Yildiz
(MA)

E-mail: yildiz@ualberta.ca
Tugba Yoldas
(PhD)

Areas of interest:
Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Language, Consciousness Studies, Philosophy of Self, Philosophical Logic, Eastern Philosophy
LinkedIn
E-mail: yoldas@ualberta.ca