Murray Ross Award

This award is funded by the Murray Ross endowment. 




Awarded annually to a student registered full time in the master's degree program in Public Health with specialization in Health Policy and Management at the University of Alberta, on the basis of academic excellence in their first year of the program.


No formal applications are necessary as all students in the MPH degree will be considered for this award.


No deadline. All eligible students will be considered for this award after their first year of the program.

About Murray

Murray Ross passed away at home in Edmonton, Alberta, on Oct. 11, 2000. He was born on Oct. 21, 1913, in Waldeck, to a Saskatchewan pioneer family, Catherine and John Ross. 

Murray became the founding executive director, past president and life member of the Alberta Hospital Association and former assistant director of the Canadian Hospital Association. He had previously served as the first lay administrator of the Lamont Public Hospital and then business manager of the Royal Alexandra Hospital. The respect in which he was held was reflected in receiving the George Findlay Stevens Award by the Canadian Hospital Association and the Order of Excellence by the province of Alberta. 

Murray was an invaluable friend and supporter to the original Master of Health Services Administration program in the 1960’s, which eventually evolved into the School of Public Health.