Research Chairs

Research Chairs are the lifeblood of the Faculty of Science's robust research program. Research Chairs and Professorships allow us to recruit and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds. These positions allow us to recognize outstanding researchers who are acknowledged by their peers as current or emerging world leaders in their fields.

Canada Research Chairs

The Faculty of Science holds 26 of the 110 Canada Research Chairs allocated to the University of Alberta.

Established by the Government of Canada, the Canada Research Chairs program enables Canadian Universities and their affiliated research institutes and hospitals to achieve the highest levels of research excellence and to become world-class centres of research.

The program aims to attract and retain excellent researchers in Canadian Universities, to strengthen the training of highly qualified personnel through research, to improve the capacity of universities to generate and apply new knowledge and to optimize the use of research resources through strategic institutional planning and collaboration.

There are two types of Canada Research Chair: Tier 1 Chairs are for seven years and are targeted at outstanding researchers who are acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields; Tier 2 Chairs are for five years and are targeted at exceptional emerging researchers who are acknowledged by their peers as having the potential to lead in their fields. Both types of chair may be renewed at the discretion of the Faculty and the University; Tier 2 Chairs may be renewed only once.

Tier 1

  • Aksel Hallin
    Astroparticle Physics
    July 2007 - June 2021
  • Dennis Hall
    Boron Chemistry for Green Catalysis and Drug Discovery
    Oct 2015 - Sept 2022
  • Fred Colbourne
    Intracerebral Hemorrhagic Stroke
    Oct 2013 - Sept 2020
  • Jillian Buriak
    Nanomaterials for Energy
    Oct 2008 - Sept 2022
  • Liang Li
    Analytical Chemistry
    Oct 2005 - Sept 2019
  • Mark Freeman
    Condensed Matter Physics
    July 2001 - June 2022
  • Mark Lewis
    Mathematical Biology
    July 2001 - June 2022
  • Philip Currie
    Dinosaur Paleobiology
    Oct 2005 - Sept 2019
  • Robert Creaser
    Isotope Geochemistry
    Dec 2009 - Nov 2023
  • Thomas Stachel
    Diamond Geology
    Apr 2012 - Mar 2024
  • Yunjie Xu
    Chirality and Chiral Recognition
    July 2011 - April 2023

Tier 2

Alberta Innovates Technology Futures/ iCore

The mission of the Alberta Informatics Circle of Research Excellence (iCORE) is to attract and grow a critical mass of exceptional researchers in the field of informatics. iCORE not only attracts world-class researchers to raise the standard of research and education at Alberta universities, but also supports the growth of knowledge-based industries.

Partner/Donor Supported Chairs and Professorships

Supporting a research position creates impact in both research and in teaching.

Other Chairs and Professorships

Canada Excellence Research Chairs

Graham Pearson, CERC Laureate

Chair in Arctic Resources - Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
2010 - 2017

Lara Mahal

Chair in Glycomics - Department of Chemistry
July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2026
CERC Award website