Members

Members Directory

Research Members

The Alberta Diabetes Institute researchers are a multidisciplinary team of experts from several different University of Alberta faculties as well as the University of Calgary working together in our 5 areas of research to answer the difficult questions surrounding diabetes. This holistic approach to diabetes research aims to accelerate discovery of new treatments for people suffering from the disease.

Faculty of Agricultural, Life & Environmental Sciences — Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutritional Science

Name Title Phone Email
Bell, Rhonda
Professor  780.492.7742  rhonda.bell@ualberta.ca 
Buteau, Jean
Associate Professor 780.492.8386 jbuteau@ualberta.ca
Chan, Catherine Professor 780.492.9939 cathy.chan@ualberta.ca
Clandinin, Tom Professor 780.492.5188 tom.clandinin@ualberta.ca
Field, Catherine Professor 780.492.2597 catherine.field@ualberta.ca
Jacobs, Rene Associate Professor 780.492.2343 rjacobs@ualberta.ca
Mager, Diana Associate Professor 780.492.7687 mager@ualberta.ca
Mazurak, Vera Associate Professor 780.492.8048 vera.mazurak@ualberta.ca
Prado, Carla
Assistant Professor 780.492.7934 carla.prado@ualberta.ca
Proctor, Spencer Professor 780.492.4672 spencer.proctor@ualberta.ca
Richard, Caroline  Assistant Professor  780.492.1563  cr5@ualberta.ca
Vine, Donna Associate Professor 780.492.4393 donna.vine@ualberta.ca
Walter, Jens Associate Professor 780.492.1182 jwalter1@ualberta.ca

Faculty of Law

Name Title Department Phone Email
Caulfield, Tim
Professor Faculty of Law 780.492.8358 caulfield@ualberta.ca

Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry

Name Title Department Phone Email
Agrawal, Babita
Professor Surgery 780.492.0929 babita.agrawal@ualberta.ca
Anderson, Colin
Professor Surgery 780.492.6036 colinand@ualberta.ca
Ball, Geoff Associate Professor Pediatrics 780.342.8465 geoff.ball@ualberta.ca
Campbell-Scherer, Denise
Associate Professor Family Medicine 780.616.2560 denise.campbell-scherer@ualberta.ca
Dyck, Jason Professor Pediatrics 780.492.0314 jason.dyck@ualberta.ca
Elliott, John Professor Medicine 780.492.0895 john.elliott@ualberta.ca
Febbraio, Maria
Professor Dentistry 780.492.3066 febbraio@ualberta.ca
Foley, Edan Professor Medical Microbiology & Immunology
780.492.2303 efoley@ualberta.ca
Girgis, Rose Associate Professor Pediatrics 780.248.5482 rgirgis@ualberta.ca
Haqq, Andrea Associate Professor Pediatrics 780.492.0015 haqq@ualberta.ca
Kaul, Padma Professor Medicine 780.492.1140 pkaul@ualberta.ca
Korbutt, Greg Professor Surgery 780.492.4657 korbutt@ualberta.ca
Kurata, Harley Associate Professor Pharmacology
780.492.9177 kurata@ualberta.ca
Lehner, Richard Professor Pediatrics 780.492.2963 richard.lehner@ualberta.ca
Light, Peter Professor Pharmacology 780.492.0638 peter.light@ualberta.ca
Lopaschuk, Gary Professor Pediatrics 780.492.1236 gary.lopaschuk@ualberta.ca
MacDonald, Patrick Associate Professor Pharmacology 780.492.8063 patrick.macdonald@ualberta.ca
McAlister, Finlay Professor Medicine 780.407.1399 finlay.mcalister@ualberta.ca
Oudit, Gavin Associate Professor Medicine 780.407.8569 gavin.oudit@ualberta.ca
Rajotte, Ray Professor Surgery and Medicine 780.492.1212 rrajotte@ualberta.ca
Rayat, Gina Associate Professor Surgery 780.492.6894 grayat@ualberta.ca
Rosolowsky, Elizabeth Assistant Professor Pediatrics 780.248.5483 rosolows@ualberta.ca
Ryan, Edmond Professor Medicine 780.407.3636 edmond.ryan@ualberta.ca
Sauve, Yves Associate Professor Physiology 780.492.8609 ysauve@ualberta.ca
Senior, Peter Professor Medicine  780.407.1480 petersenior@ualberta.ca
Shapiro, James Professor Professor 780.407.7330 jshapiro@ualberta.ca
Sharma, Arya Professor Medicine 780.735.5860 amsharm@ualberta.ca
Sharma, Sangita Professor Medicine 780.492.3214 gita.sharma@ualberta.ca
Toth, Ellen Professor Emeritus Medicine   ellen.toth@ualberta.ca
Vance, Dennis Professor Biochemistry 780.492.8286 dennis.vance@ualberta.ca
West, Lori Professor Pediatrics 780.492.3200 ljwest@ualberta.ca
Wevrick, Rachel Professor Medical Genetics 780.492.7908 rachel.wevrick@ualberta.ca
Yeung, Roseanne Assistant Professor Medicine
587-930-3037 ryeung@ualberta.ca
Yue, Jessica Assistant Professor Physiology
780-248-5804 jessica.yue@ualberta.ca
Zochodne, Douglas Professor Medicine 780.407.1680 zochodne@ualberta.ca

Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Name Title Department Phone Email
Simpson, Scot
Associate Professor Pharmacy Practice 780.492.7538 scot@ualberta.ca
Ussher, John
Assistant Professor Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences 780.492.9337 jussher@ualberta.ca

Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation 

Name Title Department Phone Email
Boule, Normand
Associate Professor Exercise Physiology and Biochemistry 780.492.4695 nboule@ualberta.ca
Davenport, Margie
Assistant Professor Exercise Physiology and Biochemistry 780.492.0642 margie.davenport@ualberta.ca
Yardley, Jane Assistant Professor Physical Education (Augustana Campus) 780.679.1688 jeyardle@ualberta.ca

School of Public Health

Name Title Phone Email
Eurich, Dean
Professor 780.492.6333 deurich@ualberta.ca
Johnson, Jeffrey
Professor 780.492.9266 jeff.jonhson@ualberta.ca

Members Outside the University of Alberta

Name Title Department Phone Email
Johnson, Steven Associate Professor Faculty of Health Disciplines, Athabasca University 1.877.848.6903 sjohnson@athabascau.ca
Ungrin, Mark Assistant Professor Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Calgary, Comparative Biology and Experimental Medicine 403.210.6203 mdungrin@ucalgary.ca