UAlberta researcher named to nuclear safety commission

Chair of University of Alberta's oncology department appointed as permanent member of Canada's nuclear regulatory body.

Jamie Hanlon - 18 March 2013

Sandy McEwan, chair of the Department of Oncology at the U of A(Edmonton) A top University of Alberta researcher has been named to a post within the nation's nuclear regulatory body.

Sandy McEwan, a professor and chair of the Department of Oncology at the U of A, was appointed to the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission as a permanent member.

The government body, whose mandate includes the regulation of the development, production and use of nuclear energy in Canada, currently consists of six permanent members and three temporary members. McEwan is the second medical doctor and only member from Western Canada on the permanent commission.

In a news release, Minister of Natural Resources Joe Oliver noted that McEwan's pedigree, which includes more than 25 years of experience in the field of nuclear medicine and previous service as a special advisor to former health minister Leona Aglukkaq in 2008, makes him an obvious and ideal candidate to appoint to this position.

"Dr. McEwan is a leading expert in nuclear medicine and medical isotopes," said Oliver. "His insight and leadership will be great assets to the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission as it continues to ensure safety, security, health and environmental stewardship in the nuclear industry."

McEwan was pleased with the announcement of his appointment.

"I am pleased to be able to contribute to the important work the commission does to ensure the health and safety of Canadians," he said. "I think it is a great reflection as well on the University of Alberta and the long history of excellence at the university in this area."