MScRS Supervisors and Research Areas

Kim Adams, PhD, Professor
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine

Research Focus
Children's development of cognitive, linguistic, social and motor skills; assistive technology development.

Email: kim.adams@ualberta.ca


Daniel Aalto, PhD, Assistant Professor, IRSM Research Scientist
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Research Focus
Oral sensorimotor system; computer modelling of head and neck functions including speech, swallowing, chewing, breathing; development of assistive technology to improve the predictability of surgical treatments; experimental validation of computer models of speech, swallowing, and chewing; adoption of advanced simulation techniques to surgical planning workflows.

Email: aalto@ualberta.ca


Tim Barlott, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Occupational science and the sociology of health, exploring the socio-political aspects of everyday life and pursuing social transformation. In particular, the allyship and freely-given relationships in community mental health. 

Email: t.barlott@ualberta.ca


David Bennett, PhD, Professor
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine and Centre for Neuroscience

Research Focus
Neurophysiology of the spinal cord after injury (motoneuron properties, spasticity and recovery of motor function).

Email: bennettd@ualberta.ca


Lauren Beaupre, PhD, Professor
Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Musculoskeletal patient populations: elderly patients with hip fracture; total joint arthroplasty; trauma.

Email: lauren.beaupre@ualberta.ca


Suzette Bremault-Phillips, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Mental health, spirituality and health, resiliency, neuroplasticity, community health service delivery (including the role of technology), geriatrics, and inter-professional education and research.

Email: suzette.phillips@ualberta.ca


Cary Brown, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Complex adaptive systems theory, chronic pain, meaning construction in chronic illness, cross-cultural service delivery, scar management & computer-assisted learning.

Email: cary.brown@ualberta.ca


Monique Charest, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Research Focus
Language development and disorders; language assessment; children's language processing.

Email: mcharest@ualberta.ca


Trelani Chapman, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Research Focus
Causes and correlates of typical and atypical language and reading achievement with a focus on the early years; prevention and early identification for children at-risk for reading-related learning disabilities.

Email: trelani@ualberta.ca


Shu-Ping Chen, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Social inclusion for individuals with serious mental illnesses, stigma and disability, recovery, substance misuse, campus mental health.

Email: shuping2@ualberta.ca


Jacqueline Cummine, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Research Focus
Examining the behaviour, functional and structural pathways of basic language processing.

Email: jacqueline.cummine@ualberta.ca


Shaniff Esmail, PhD, Associate Chair
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Sexuality; couple relationship; disability; physical assessment.

Email: shaniff.esmail@ualberta.ca


Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Biomarkers, physical- and social-environment correlates and determinants of movement behaviours in people with neurological and cognitive impairments, and the relationships between sleep, sedentary behaviour, physical activity and health.

Email: ezeugwu@ualberta.ca 

Keith Fenrich, PhD, Assistant Professor
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine

Research Focus
The systems neuroscience of neural plasticity and functional recovery from spinal cord injury. 

Email: fenrich@ualberta.ca 
Martin Ferguson-Pell, PhD, Professor

Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine

Research Focus
Biomedical engineering; neurosciences.

Email: martin.ferguson-pell@ualberta.ca


Karim Fouad, PhD, Professor
Department of Physical Therapy and Centre for Neuroscience

Research Focus
Promotion of functional recovery after spinal cord injuries by increasing the regenerative and plastic capabilities of the central nervous system.

Email: karim.fouad@ualberta.ca


Douglas Gross, PhD, Professor
Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Assessment and management of common musculoskeletal disorders; prevention of work-related disability; prognosis; functional assessment.

Email: doug.gross@ualberta.ca


Bill Hodgetts, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Research Focus
Bone anchored hearing aids; noise exposure from MP3 Players.

Email: bill.hodgetts@ualberta.ca


Sandra Hodgetts, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Collaborative, interdisciplinary research on interventions, supports and services that improve the health and participation of individuals with autism and their families.

Email: sandra.hodgetts@ualberta.ca


Tammy Hopper, PhD, Professor and Dean
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine

Research Focus
Cognition and language in normal aging, dementia, and aphasia.

Email: tammy.hopper@ualberta.ca


Allyson Jones, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Patient health outcomes and health-related quality of life in geriatric patient populations; total joint arthroplasties; spinal stenosis; hip fracture; (epidemiology and clinical trials).

Email: allyson.jones@ualberta.ca


Gregory Kawchuk, PhD, Professor
Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Developing experimental methodologies to discern the relation between spinal mechanics, pain and potential solutions.

Email: gregory.kawchuk@ualberta.ca


Esther Kim, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Research Focus
Nature and treatment of written language disorders in aphasia; cognitive and linguistic aspects of communication in normal aging and aphasia.

Email: esther.kim@ualberta.ca


Ada Leung, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Cognitive rehabilitation.

Email: ada.leung@ualberta.ca


Andrea MacLeod, PhD, Professor
Department of Communication Sciences & Disorders

Research Focus
Speech and language abilities of bilingual children and adults.

Email: andrea.a.n.macleod@ualberta.ca


Patricia Manns, PhD, Professor and Associate Dean, Graduate Studies
Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Health promotion strategies (ie physical activity, education) to promote optimal health and functional ability in adults with neurological disability.

Email: trish.manns@ualberta.ca


David McConnell, PhD, Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Parenting with developmental disability; family care for children & young people with disabilities.

Email: david.mcconnell@ualberta.ca


Margaret McNeely, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Cancer rehabilitation and exercise.

Email: margie.mcneely@ualberta.ca


John Misiaszek, PhD, Professor and Vice-Dean, Research
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Neurophysiology of motor control; neural control of locomotion and balance; feedback regulation of locomotion.

Email: john.misiaszek@ualberta.ca


Eric Parent, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Assessment of measurement properties of questionnaires and performance measures; development of prediction rules to identify responders to physical therapy treatments; assessing the mechanisms of action of physical therapy interventions using quantitative measures from MR images; low back pain and scoliosis.

Email: eric.parent@ualberta.ca


Karen Pollock, PhD, Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Research Focus
Vowel errors in children with phonological disorders; speech-language acquisition in children adopted from China; phonological characteristics of African American Vernacular English.

Email: karen.pollock@ualberta.ca


Jana Rieger, PhD, Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Research Focus
Normal and disordered aspects of voice and resonance; disordered aspects of speech, chewing and swallowing secondary to head and neck cancer; and automatic speech recognition.

Email: jana.rieger@ualberta.ca


Adriana Rios-Rincon, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Assistive technologies; investigating the use of assistive technologies to assess and promote cognitive skills and engagement in play in individuals with disabilities, mainly those with motor and cognitive impairment.

Email: aros@ualberta.ca


Mary Roduta Roberts, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy

Research Focus
Development of clinical reasoning and professional expertise over time; feedback and self-regulated learning; integration of technology with instruction, assessment, and curriculum design; and technology use in practice.

Email: mroberts@ualberta.ca


Marguerite Wieler, PhD, Professor and Chair
Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Investigating and understanding the underlying mechanisms and potential treatments for people living with Movement Disorders (Parkinson disease, Huntington disease, dystonia, essential tremor) and other central nervous system disorders.

Email: mwieler@ualberta.ca


Lesley Wiart, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Evaluation of effectiveness of physical therapy interventions for children with cerebral palsy and pediatric rehabilitation service delivery for children with neuromotor disabilities.

Email: lwiart@ualberta.ca


Jaynie Yang, PhD, Professor
Department of Physical Therapy

Research Focus
Neural control of walking in healthy individuals and those with spinal cord injuries.

Email: jaynie.yang@ualberta.ca