Awards and Accolades - November 2020

Celebrating the achievements of Business faculty, staff, students and alumni.

Faculty Excellence


Congratulations to Christopher Steele, Madeline Toubiana and Royston Greenwood with the Alberta School of business. Their co-authored paper, Why worry? Celebrating and reformulating ‘Integrative Institutionalism' has been selected as a winner of the Outstanding Author Contribution category in the 2020 Emerald Literati Awards. The research seeks to understand the dynamics of the institutions that shape organizations and everyday life.

Jim Chrisman, a business professor from Mississippi State University and longtime research fellow with the Centre for Entrepreneurship & Family Enterprise in the Alberta School of Business, is among the list of Highly Cited Researchers, according to Clarivate.

Student Success


MBA student Brody Clarke has been named the University of Alberta’s top male Academic All-Canadian. Sixteen other School of Business students have also earned Academic All-Canadian honours.


Congratulations to BCom student Ghalis Aamer, who won first place at the Young Entrepreneurs’ Pitch Conference. She pitched her startup TalkMaze, a digital public speaking and debate training platform for people around the world.

School News

The 2021 QS World University Rankings are out and once again, the School of Business is well represented! The school is fourth in Canada on the QS Business Masters Rankings: Finance and seventh on the QS Global MBA Rankings: Canada.


Forty-seven students and 28 faculty participated in the first-ever Virtual Business PhD Research Conference in November. Students and faculty took part in different presentations and panels throughout the day. Four faculty members in attendance also participated in a panel session on Cross-disciplinary and Multi-Methods Research moderated by business student Kylie Heales.

Alumni Accomplishments


Four alumni from the School of Business are represented on Edify Edmonton and Avenue Calgary’s annual “Top 40 under 40” lists of celebrated entrepreneurs, researchers, innovators and artists. Congratulations to Braede Harris, '08 BCom, Manav Deol, '13 BCom; '14 JD; '15 MBA, Briana Loughlin, '10 BCom, and Maureen Moneta, '08 BCom!

The list of winners for the Business Best Executive Awards was released and a School of Business alumna is on that list! Kelly Blackett,'97 BCom, is the executive vice-president, Human Resources & Corporate Communications with CWB Financial Group.

If you would like to submit information about an award for yourself or on behalf of a friend, colleague or peer, please submit the Share Your News form.