Awards and Accolades - January to March 2023

Celebrating the outstanding achievements of our Alberta School of Business faculty, students, staff and alumni from January to March 2023

Faculty Excellence



A huge congratulations to Karim Jamal and Colette Miller, 82 BCom! They are the recipients of the CPA Alberta Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Karim Jamal, professor and chair of the department of accounting and business analytics, will be inducted into the Canadian Accounting Hall of Fame on June 10, 2023.

Ivor Cribben, Yonghua Ji and Paul Messinger were promoted to full professor effective July 1, 2023. Congratulations!

The 2022-23 Faculty Research Fellowship Committee has awarded 10 fellowships to the following researchers: 

  • Michael Lounsbury, Rober S. Smith Professor of Business
  • Rasmus Fatum, Francis Winspear Professor of Business
  • Ian Gellatly, Alex Hamilton Professor of Business
  • Runjuan Liu, Eric Geddes Professor of Business
  • Sanjay Banerjee, Canadian Utilities Faculty Fellowship
  • Angelique Slade Shantz, G.R.A. Rice Faculty Fellowship
  • Adelina Barbalau, Hugh E. Pearson Fellowship
  • Runjing Lu, The Edmonton Journal Fellowship
  • Bora Kofal, NOVA Management of Technology Endowment
  • Ivor Cribben, Xerox Canada Faculty Fellowship

Student Success

Team Elite from the Real Estate Program of the Alberta School of Business defeated the University of Calgary and the University of Manitoba in a real estate development case competition coordinated by NAIOP Edmonton. Congratulations to Rayyan Hudda, Christelle Perena, Lukas Haberman, Ana Ong and Cody Miner.

Congratulations to Eddie Edward, Chris McCollum, Winatcha Hart, and Subrat Sharma for their second-place finish at the seventh Annual MBA Diversity & Inclusion Case Competition organized by the Telfer School of Management at the University of Ottawa.

Well done to bachelor of commerce student Emma Neilsen on receiving the JLL Women in Real Estate Award, granted to deserving recipients that have demonstrated good academic standing, leadership and involvement in their communities as selected by their respective schools.

Well done to the University of Alberta team selected for the Net Impact Case Competition held at the University of Colorado Boulder in March 2023.

Mahek Seth was selected as a winner of the 2023 CEOx1Day program, aimed at celebrating and recognizing Canada’s most talented third and fourth-year post-secondary students.


Congratulations to Alberta JDC West, a team of 52 students from the Alberta School of Business, for representing the school well with the following results at JDC West after a year of preparation: 

  • 2nd place in the Human Resources case competition
  • 2nd place in the Not-for-Profit case competition
  • 3rd place in the Accounting case competition
  • 3rd place in the Business Technology case competition
  • Executive of the Year Award: Ayden Schroh


If you would like to submit information about an award for yourself or on behalf of a friend, colleague or peer, please submit the Share Your News form.

Subscribe to UAlberta Business

Become part of our community. Get the latest news and event information from the Alberta School of Business in your inbox every month.

Sign Up Now