Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Professors

Professors

William Anselmi
Professor
wanselmi@ualberta.ca
19th and 20th Century Italian Literature; Italian Canadian Culture and Literature; Image era, communication systems and representations in and outside of Italy; Italian alternative music (from the sixties to present day); Italian cinema post-1945; Italian television from the fifties to present day; Italian politics, political figures, and social contexts (from P. P. Pasolini to S. Berlusconi)
Laura Beard
Professor & Chair
lbeard@ualberta.ca
Brazilian Studies; Comparative Literature; Feminist, Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Critical Theory; 20th and 21st Century Studies; Spanish & Latin American Studies; Aboriginal or Indigenous Literature; Canadian Literature; World Literatures in English; Literary and Cultural Theory; (Auto) Biographical and Life Writing; Gender and Sexuality Studies
Hispanic Literature and Culture; Literary Theory; Narrative Theory; Empirical Approaches to Literary Response; World Literature.
Albert Braz
Associate Professor
albert.braz@ualberta.ca
English and Film Studies; Comparative Literature Program
Marie Carriere
Associate Professor
marie.carriere@ualberta.ca
Canadian and Québécois Literatures; Contemporary Fiction and Poetry; Feminist and Queer Studies; Indigenous Writing; Crisis Literature; Comparative Approaches; Writing by Women. Cross-appointed with English & Film Studies.
Odile Cisneros
Associate Professor
cisneros@ualberta.ca
Spanish American Literature; Brazilian Literature; Latin American Cultural Studies; Translation
Russell Cobb
Associate Professor
rcobb@ualberta.ca
Cultural Studies; Comparative Literature; Spanish & Latin American Studies
Jennifer Dailey-O'Cain
Professor
jenniedo@ualberta.ca
Applied Linguistics; Discourse Studies; European Studies; Sociolinguistics
Ann De León
Associate Professor
adeleon1@ualberta.ca
Mexico; Latin American Literature and Cultural Studies; Colonial Latin America; Indigenous America; Translation Theory and Praxis; Gender Studies
Astrid Ensslin
Professor
ensslin@ualberta.ca
Media and Digital Communication
Cross-appointed with Humanities Computing
Daniel Fried
Associate Professor
dfried@ualberta.ca
East Asian Studies; Comparative Literature Program
Anna Gural-Migdal
Professor
aguralm@ualberta.ca
French Literature; 19th and 20th Centuries; French Cinema; Literary and Film Theory; French Language
Xavier Gutierrez
Assistant Professor
xavier.gutierrez@ualberta.ca
Applied Linguistics
Gary Kelly
Distinguished University Professor
gary.kelly@ualberta.ca
Comparative Literature, World Literature as Print Culture and Book History, History and Uses of Reading, Language in Everyday Life, 18th Century Literature and Culture, 19th Century Literature and Culture, Literary And Cultural Theory, Media Studies, Area Studies: The Atlantic World, Women's History, Genre Studies (Gothic, Melodrama, the Novel, Popular Forms), Social Theory, Gender And Sexuality. Cross-appointed with English & Film Studies
Natalie Kononenko
Professor & Kule Chair
natalie.kononenko@ualberta.ca
Film, Media, and Image Studies; Folklore Studies; Ukrainian Studies; Slavic Studies; 20th and 21st Century Studies
Claudia Kost
Undergraduate Associate Chair
Associate Professor
ckost@ualberta.ca
German Language; German Applied Linguistics; Second Language Acquisition; Foreign Language Pedagogy and Methodology
Daniel Laforest
Associate Professor
daniel.laforest@ualberta.ca
French & Francophone Studies; Quebec and Canadian Studies; Cultural Studies; Literary and Critical Theory; Film, Media, and Image Studies; 20th and 21st Century Studies; Health
Yvonne Lam
Associate Professor
yvonne.lam@ualberta.ca
Spanish Language and Grammar; Second Language Acquisition and Pedagogy; Sociolinguistics; Introductory Linguistics
Elisabeth Le
Professor
elisabeth.le@ualberta.ca
Applied Linguistics; Discourse Studies; Media Studies; Linguistic Anthropology
Anne Malena
Professor
anne.malena@ualberta.ca
French Language, Literature, Culture; Francophone Literature and Culture; Translation and Translation Theory; Translation History; Louisiana Creole Literature and Culture; Caribbean Literature and Culture
Iman Mersal
Associate Professor
iman.mersal@ualberta.ca
Arabic Language; Modern Arabic Literature; Arabic Travel Literature; Arab Cinema; Postcolonial Literature; Diasporic Literature.
Andriy Nahachewsky
Professor & Huculak Chair
andriy.nahachewsky@ualberta.ca
Folklore; Ukrainian Culture; Dance; Material Culture
Alla Nedashkivska
Associate Professor
alla.nedashkivska@ualberta.ca
Applied Linguistics; Slavic Linguistics; Ukrainian Language and Culture
Waclaw Osadnik
Professor
waclaw.osadnik@ualberta.ca
Translation Studies; Theory of Literature; Contemporary Polish Literature and Cinema; Polish as a Second Language; Central and East European Cinema
Lynn Penrod
Professor
lynn.penrod@ualberta.ca
French language (all levels); French Literature of the 20th century; Children’s Literature in French; Women’s Writing in French; Literary Translation; Translation Theory, Literary Theory; French Feminist Theory; Comparative Studies in Law and Literature; Jurisprudence
Jelena Pogosjan
Professor
jelena.pogosjan@ualberta.ca
Cultural Studies; 18th Century Studies; 17th Century Studies; Slavic Studies; Film, Media, and Image Studies; Literary and Critical Theory; 19th Century Studies
Natalia Pylypiuk
Professor
natalia.pylypiuk@ualberta.ca
Medieval and Early-Modern Ukrainian Culture; Diaspora and Dissent; Literature Today; Childrens' Literature; Ukrainian Language
Sathya Rao
Associate Professor
sathya.rao@ualberta.ca
French Translation
Chris Reyns
Associate Professor
reynschi@ualberta.ca
Cultural Studies; Comics Studies; French & Francophone Studies; Film, Media, and Image Studies; Feminist, Gender and Sexuality Studies; 20th and 21st Century Studies; Transcultural Studies; Children's Literature; European Studies
Peter Rolland
Associate Professor
peter.rolland@ualberta.ca
Russian Language and Literature
Victoria Ruétalo
Associate Professor
victoria.ruetalo@ualberta.ca
Cultural Studies; Film, Media, and Image Studies; Literary and Critical Theory; 20th and 21st Century Studies; Spanish & Latin American Studies; Transcultural Studies
Elena Siemens
Associate Professor
elena.siemens@ualberta.ca
Visual Culture; Cultural Studies; Post-Soviet Culture (Film, Theatre, Media); Urban Studies; Critical Theory
Carrie Smith-Prei
Graduate Associate Chair
Associate Professor
carrie.smith-prei@ualberta.ca
German Studies; Feminist, Gender and Sexuality Studies; Cultural Studies; Film, Media, and Image Studies; 20th and 21st Century Studies; Literary and Critical Theory
Andreas Stuhlmann
DAAD Visiting Associate Professor
stuhlman@ualberta.ca
German Cultural, i.e. Intellectual, Media and Literary History, with an emphasis on German-Jewish Cultural Relations
Irene Sywenky
Associate Professor
irene.sywenky@ualberta.ca
History of Literary Theory; Critical Theory; Comparative and World Literature; Genre Studies; European Tradition; Autobiography; Science Fiction, Fairy Tales and Folk Tales; Translation; Central and East European Literature and Cultures
Julie Tarif
Faculty Lecturer
jtarif@ualberta.ca
Translation Studies
Micah True
Associate Professor
micah.true@ualberta.ca
French and Francophone Literature, Culture, and Folklore, with particular emphasis on the early modern period (16th -18th centuries) and contact between Cultures
Natalie Van Deusen
Henry Cabot and Linnea Lodge Scandinavian Professor, Assistant Professor
vandeuse@ualberta.ca
Scandinavian Studies; Medieval Literatures; Pre-Modern and Early Modern Studies; Feminist, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Jerry Varsava
Professor
jerry.varsava@ualberta.ca
20Th And 21St Century Studies, American Literature, World Literatures In English. Comparative Literature Program. Cross-appointed with English & Film Studies.
Massimo Verdicchio
Associate Professor
massimo.verdicchio@ualberta.ca
Dante and Petrarch, Theory of the Novel and the Anti-novel