Jan Chalk Contract Instructor Award

This generous endowment funded by Jan Chalk, previous Assistant Chair (Administration), supports contract instructors in the Department of Modern Languages and Cultural Studies.


1. Exhibits a consistently superior command of the subject matter.

2. Instills in students a vital interest in, and enthusiasm for, the subject.

3. Consistently demonstrates a concern for student progress and is available and approachable for out of classroom consultation.

4. Strongly encourages and fosters independent study.

5. Generates a desire for continued learning.

This award is granted by the Chair's Executive Committee annually and presented at Department Council. Winners include:

  • Ute Blunck (German) 2007
  • Christine Mhina (Swahili) 2008
  • Marianne Lindvall (Swedish, Norwegian) 2009
  • Mathieu Martin-Leblanc (French) 2010
  • Andrea Hayes (French) 2011
  • Crystal Sawatzky (German) 2012
  • Patrizia Bettella (Italian) 2013
  • Kate Primorac (Spanish) 2014
  • Carmela Bruni-Bossio (Spanish) 2015
  • Jolanta Lapiak (ASL) 2016
  • Nada Chehayeb (French) 2017
  • Delma Gil Wilson (Spanish) 2018
  • John Eason (Norwegian, Scandinavian, Swedish) 2019
  • Jeff Longard (French) 2020
  • Sandra Reid (ASL) 2021
  • Rouzbeh Ghahreman (ASL) 2021