Graduate Students

NAME LANGUAGES RESEARCH AREA
Bashair Alibrahim
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
bashair@ualberta.ca
Arabic, French L'auto-traduction dans le monde arabe à travers l'espace et le temps/Self-translation in the Arab World through Space and Time
Anna Antonova
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures (ABD)
aantonov@ualberta.ca
Ukrainian, German
Jordan Ashworth
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
jashwort@ualberta.ca
Ioanna-Maria Bakulina
PhD Transnational & Comparative Literatures
bakulina@ualberta.ca
Russian Social dreaming in popular dystopias
Houssem Ben Lazreg
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
benlazre@ualberta.ca
Arabic, French Translation In/From The Middle East: The Militarization of Language. Multiple Studies About The Representations of Conflict Through Translation
Valentina Benvenuti
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
vbenvenu@ualberta.ca
Italian, French
Malou Brouwer
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
malou@ualberta.ca
Dutch, French Crossing Languages, Creating Communities: Imagining Indigenous Sovereignty in 21st-Century Canadian Indigenous Women’s Poetry
Maryna Chernyavska
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
chernyav@ualberta.ca
Ukrainian, Russian
Katya Chomitzky
MA Media and Cultural Studies
chomitzk@ualberta.ca
Ukrainian Embroidering the Fallen Iron Curtain: Revitalizing Ukrainian Material Culture for the sake of De-russification
Derya Cinar
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures (ABD)
cinar@ualberta.ca
Turkish Too Crowded Here: Humanimal Bodies in Flux
Richard Feddersen
PhD German (ABD)
fedderse@ualberta.ca
German Meet the Germans? How L2 German Learners Understand and Construct German Identity
Treesa Friesen
MA (course) Media and Cultural Studies
treesa@ualberta.ca
Jonathan Garfinkel
PhD Media and Cultural Studies (ABD)
garfinke@ualberta.ca
Hebrew, French Stories from the body-technology: diabetes as illness and metaphor
Kenzie Gordon
PhD Media and Cultural Studies & Digital Humanities
mlgordon@ualberta.ca
Spanish, French Depictions and interpretations of gender-based violence in video games
Cristian Guerra
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
cguerra@ualberta.ca
Spanish
Lily Gulcev
PhD Media and Cultural Studies (ABD)
lgulcev@ualberta.ca
Macedonian
Wangtaolue Guo
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures (ABD)
wangtaol@ualberta.ca
Mandarin, Cantonese Young Birds on the Wing: Translating/Transacting Queer Literature During the "Gay Boom" in Taiwan
Hansy Herrera
PhD Spanish and Latin American Studies (ABD)
hansy@ualberta.ca
Spanish Narcoculture and its Implications on Body Representations
Jasmin Hirschberg
PhD German (ABD)
hirschbe@ualberta.ca
German Student-guided Grammar Instruction in the Foreign Language Classroom
Olena Hlazkova
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
hlazkova@ualberta.ca
Ukrainian The Image of a Woman -- Migrant and Its Evaluation in Modern Ukrainian Literature
Anton Iorga
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
iorga@ualberta.ca
French, Spanish Translating Grief: Diasporic Indigenous Hip-hop, Spoken Word Poetry, and Poetic Oral Literature as the Rebirth of Traditional Storytelling
Mary Catherine Lawler
PhD German (ABD)
mlawler@ualberta.ca
German Anxious Affects
Lisa Lawrence
PhD Transnational & Comparative Literatures
ljlawren@ualberta.ca
Italian, Spanish
Wenzhu Li
PhD Transnational & Comparative Literatures
wenzhu1@ualberta.ca
Mandarin, Cantonese, Classical Chinese, French (reading) I have been researching classical and contemporary Chinese poetry, how Chinese female poets interact with the Western discourse of feminism, and how modern Chinese poetry provides a site where the Western theory of transnationalism fails to accommodate the particular concerns of modern Chinese poets in the context of globalization.
Ana Magalhaes
PhD Media & Cultural Studies
amagalha@ualberta.ca
Portuguese, Spanish Pornochanchadas and Popular Erotic Cinema in Latin America
Asma M'Barek
PhD French (ABD)
mbarek@ualberta.ca
French Reconciling CEFR and Poetry in FSL Courses
Heather McCallum
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
hmccallu@ualberta.ca
Shahin Moghaddasi Sarabi
PhD Applied Linguistics (ABD)
smoghadd@ualberta.ca
Turkish Genre Analysis of Research Articles in Mathematics
Sofia Monzon Rodriguez
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures (ABD)
monzonro@ualberta.ca
Spanish Censorships in Dialogue: Translating the Subversive in Spain and Argentina (60-70s)
Peter Morley
PhD Media and Cultural Studies
pmorley@ualberta.ca
German
Shahab Nadimi
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
nadimi@ualberta.ca
Kurdish, Farsi
Sofia Parilla
MA Transnational & Comparative Literatures
parrila@ualberta.ca
French, Finnish
Megan Perram
PhD Media and Cultural Studies (ABD)
mperram@ualberta.ca
Coding Click Me: Literary hypertext as illness narrative for women* with hyperandrogenism
Amber Elizabeth Peters
MA Media and Cultural Studies
apeters1@ualberta.ca
Depictions of al-Buraq in Islamic Art and Material Culture of the Deccan in conversation with literatures of the Subcontinent and Iran
Jennifer Quist
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures (ABD)
jlquist@ualberta.ca
Mandarin A Translingual Way Through Creative Writing
Saman Rezaei
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
srezaei@ualberta.ca
Farsi
Riley (Hans) Samson
MA (course) Transnational & Comparative Literatures
hsamson@ualberta.ca
Glenna Schowalter
MA Media and Cultural Studies
schowalt@ualberta.ca
German

Larisa Sembaliuk Cheladyn
PhD Media and Cultural Studies (ABD)
cheladyn@ualberta.ca

Ukrainian

The Tabachniuk Narratives: A Juxtaposition of Time and Space

Silvia Sgaramella
PhD Slavic Languages and Literatures (ABD)
sgaramel@ualberta.ca
Italian, Russian Undressing the Years: Boris Pilnyak and the Thematic Connections with 1920s Europe.
Shahnaz Shahtoosi
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
shahtoos@ualberta.ca
Farsi Dubbing of English and French Films in the Iranian Context
Kerry Sluchinski
PhD Applied Linguistics (ABD)
ksluchin@ualberta.ca
Mandarin,
Japanese,
Korean
Animate “It” and Genderless “Comrade”: Third Person Pronoun ta in Chinese LGBT Discourses
Bruno Soares dos Santos
MA Transnational and Comparative Literatures
brunosoares@ualberta.ca
Portuguese, Spanish Changes in the international reception of Brazilian literature: the cases of Lispector, Machado, and Amado
Sajad Soleymani Yazdi
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures (ABD)
ssoleyma@ualberta.ca
Farsi Mysticisms in Modernisms from Walter Benjamin to Ali Shariati
Lindsay Sorell
MA Media and Cultural Studies
sorell@ualberta.ca
Dominika Tabor
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures
tabor@ualberta.ca
Polish Notion of Migration Travel in Canadian Children’s Literature and Its Impact on the Creation of Canadian Nationhood
Tu Tran
PhD Applied Linguistics (ABD)
tttran1@ualberta.ca
Vietnamese Language ideologies and cultural identities in the linguistic landscape
Laura Velazquez
PhD Transnational and Comparative Literatures (ABD)
lauralet@ualberta.ca
Spanish, Mandarin Hispanic and Sinophone literatures and films of migration
Ana Vicente Foster
MA Transnational & Comparative Literatures
vicentef@ualberta.ca
Spanish
Mingxing Wang
PhD Translation Studies (ABD)
mingxing@ualberta.ca
Mandarin, French Translation as a Productive Cultural Space: Gao Xingjian in Translation
Ningxin Wang
MA (course) Transnational & Comparative Literatures
ningxin1@ualberta.ca
Mandarin, French Sinophone and Francophone literatures; translation
Xiaoyun Wang
PhD Applied Linguistics (ABD)
xiaoyun@ualberta.ca
Mandarin Interactional Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, and Multimodal Analysis
Yan Wang
PhD Comparative Literature (ABD)
yan15@ualberta.ca
Mandarin Transgressing Chinese Masculinities: Homoeroticism, Transgenderism and Cross-Dressing in Chinese Martial Arts Fiction and Film
Jing Yang
PhD Transnational & Comparative Literatures
jyang21@ualberta.ca
Mandarin Beat Poets and Chinese Culture
Wei Zeng
PhD Transnational & Comparative Literatures
wzeng4@ualberta.ca
Mandarin, Japanese Wang Fuzhi in Translation; Comparative analysis of Chinese literature.