Stand Alone Violin Part II

Stand Alone Violin Part II
Bach and contemporaries writing for the unaccompanied violin
Friday, June 11, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. MST
Streaming online

In August 1720, Johann Sebastian Bach completed Sei Solo (Six Solos), a collection of unaccompanied, or stand-alone, works for the violin. Regarded as a 'bible' of the violinist's repertoire, the series of sonatas and partitas continue to delight and challenge. This concert features violinist Guillaume Tardif performing selections from the 300 year old set of works, along with similar works from Bach's contemporaries, including Pisendel, Geminiani, Westhoff, and Locatelli.


Canadian violinist Guillaume Tardif is an Associate Professor and String Area Coordinator at the Department of Music, University of Alberta. His research mostly explores aspects of the violin’s history and practice, with a focus on works written by violinist-composers. As a soloist, he has presented a large repertoire, including many premieres. He has collaborated with ensembles and distinguished artists in Canada and abroad, and his contributions include recordings, arrangements, and scholarly articles. A graduate of the Conservatoire du Quebec (First Prize in Violin), the Eastman School - University of Rochester (Doctor of Musical Arts), and the Alberta-Haskayne MBA program, he also lectured in the areas of business of music and culture and creativity, notably as part of programs with the Banff Centre, the Kule Institute, the Wirth Institute, and the University of Innsbruck.