Universal Transit Pass (U-Pass)

Notice: The U-Pass Program has been suspended for Winter 2021, Spring 2021 and Summer 2021. Please visit the ETS website for information on available transit options


The U-Pass Agreement was recently renewed via referendum in 2021. We are currently planning for the U-Pass program to resume in Fall 2021, pending COVID-19 restrictions and access to Campus

Winter 2021-Spring/Summer 2021

Due to COVID-19 and the expansion of remote delivery for Edmonton post-secondary institutions, the U-Pass program was suspended for the Fall 2020 semester and remains suspended for the Winter and Spring/Summer 2021 semesters. After extensive advocacy, Edmonton City Council has extended Youth Fare Products (previously only available to those under the age of 24) to all students who normally receive the U-Pass, regardless of age. As well, those who are eligible for Ride Transit are encouraged to apply. We recognize that these are not ideal alternatives for many graduate students, but we are happy that a decision that allows for some savings on the part of students was reached and that these options are available for the start of the Fall 2020 semester and will continue into the Winter 2021 semester.

Please note that once the U-Pass program resumes, students will no longer be eligible for Ride Transit or the extended Youth Fare Products. 


Visit the U of A U-Pass website for more information.

 History of the U-Pass

The U-Pass gives you unlimited access to public transit using the Edmonton Transit System, Beaumont Transit, Fort Saskatchewan Transit, Leduc Transit, Spruce Grove Transit, City of St. Albert Transit, and Strathcona County Transit.

The current U-Pass agreement was approved through a referendum in 2017 (the program was originally established by referendum in 2007). The most recently approved U-Pass agreement will take effect in Fall 2021. The GSA negotiates for the U-Pass on behalf of GSA members, alongside the Students' Union and student associations from other Edmonton post-secondary institutions that have the program.


An overview of the U-Pass program provided by ETS is available here.