People

Academic Staff

Note : An * after the name means this person is NOT accepting graduate student applications for 2018/2019

Baerveldt, Cor
BS P-345
(780) 492-5263
cor@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Self, emotion & culture.
Bisanz, Jeff *
BS P-235
(780) 492-5258
jeff.bisanz@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
I study cognitive development in children, with a focus on mathematical thinking and instruction. I also am involved in community-based research projects with the Community-University Partnership for the Study of Children, Youth, and Families (CUP).
Photo Unavailable Brinker, Jay *
BS P-361
(780) 492-3360
jay.brinker@ualberta.ca


Brown, Norman
BS P-563
(780) 492-4604
norman.brown@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Autobiographical memory, collective memory, basic memory processes, judgment and decision making, cognitive aspects of survey methodology.
Jeremy Caplan Caplan, Jeremy
BS P-353
(780) 492-5265
jcaplan@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Human memory from three approaches: a) experimental psychology, b) computational cognitive modeling and c) cognitive neuroscience, neuroimaging and electrophysiology, as well as the connection of all these approaches.
Colbourne, Fred
BS P-253
(780) 492-5175
fcolbour@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Rodent models of stroke (e.g., focal ischemia, intracerebral hemorrhage). Recovery after stroke (e.g., experimental rehabilitation treatments). Neuroprotective interventions for stroke (e.g., therapeutic hypothermia).
Dawson, Mike
BS P-565
(780) 492-7858
mdawson@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Foundations of cognitive science.
Dickson, Clayton
BS P-439
(780) 492-7860
cdickson@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Coordinated patterns of rhythmic neuronal activity are a feature of both the waking and sleeping brain. We are interested in how sleep and sleep-like rhythms may play a role in long-term episodic memories that are dependent on medial temporal lobe structures like the hippocampus.
Dixon, Peter
BS P-583
(780) 492-2318
peter.dixon@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Mind wandering, reading and literature, attention, action and perception, statistical methods.
Roger Dixon Dixon, Roger
BS P-579
(780) 492-5850
rdixon@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
We conduct longitudinal and epidemiological research in multiple integrated aspects of neurocognitive aging. For example, we investigate trajectories and transitions associated with a spectrum of outcomes such as healthy and normal aging, mild cognitive impairment, and Alzheimer's disease. Our studies include assessment of the influence of biomarkers, such as genetic, health, metabolomic, lifestyle, and other dementia risk and protective factors.
Gagne, Christina
BS P-569
(780) 492-0034
cgagne@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
I am interested in how conceptual knowledge affects the way people understand and use language. My current research focuses on how existing concepts can be combined to create new conceptual structures. I am also examining how people use language to convey information about such structures.
Galambos, Nancy
BS P-567
(780) 492-4607
galambos@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Mental Health Trajectories in the Transition to Adulthood; Parent-youth Relations; Sleep Behaviours and Psychosocial Functioning in University Students; Social Development from Adolescence to Middle Adulthood.
Guillette, Lauren
(July 2018)
guillett@ualberta.ca
Website
I am a comparative psychologist with a broad interest in animal behaviour, with a particular focus on how learning and cognitive abilities allow animals to solve problems they face in the wild (e.g. foraging, vocal recognition of conspecifics, how to know what nest to build). I investigate the causes and consequences of variation in these abilities.
Dana Hayward Hayward, Dana
(July 2018)
dana.hayward@ualberta.ca

My research is grounded in the field of spatial attention, with a focus on how we pay attention to social information. Key questions include (i) determining the underlying attentional mechanisms to social and nonsocial information, (ii) investigating how individual or group-based (i.e., autism spectrum disorder) variability shapes attention, and (iii) delineating the motivational/reward and environmental influences on attention.
Wendy Hoglund Hoglund, Wendy
BS P-237
(780) 492-7147
hoglund@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Social and emotional development of vulnerable children and adolescents and factors that enhance or undermine their competencies, including relationships with peers, parents, and teachers and setting-level processes (e.g., classroom instructional practices). School-based programming and practices designed to promote social and emotional competencies.
Hurd, Peter
BS P-445
(780) 492-3578
phurd@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Evolutionary biology and behavioural neuroscience of individual differences in social behaviour; Sex and violence in humans and cichlid fish; Sex as a spectrum and its biological development.
Kuiken, Don
BS P-319L
(780) 492-8760
dkuiken@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Changes in self-understanding through dreams, especially impactful dreams, and through literary reading, especially poetry; phenomenological methods for articulating the characteristics of dreaming and aesthetic experience.
Sheree Kwong See Kwong-See, Sheree *
BS P-571
(780) 492-5197
kwongsee@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Normal and abnormal cognitive changes in aging. Development of age stereotyping in children. Impact of age stereotyping (ageism) on cognitive performance in later life and in contexts such as health care and elder abuse.
Loepelmann, Karsten *
BS P-231
(780) 492-7157
kloepelm@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Human factors and ergonomics; applications of psychology, design, and human-machine systems. Teaching, learning, and technology.
Masuda, Takahiko *
BS P-355
(780) 492-7861
tmasuda@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Cultural Variations in Cognition, Emotion, and Motivation; Multiculturalism; Bilingualism; Acculturation; Language Acquisition; Pragmatics; Socialization Processes of Cultural Practices.
Mathewson, Kyle
BS P-455
(780) 492-2662
kmathews@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Human psychophysiology of attention, perception, and performance. We use human behavioural studies, neuroimaging, and electrophysiological recording to gain understanding of the visual attention system. We study basic processes of the visual attention system involving oscillations in neural activity, as well as how these processes are utilized in real world tasks such as driving and video games. We are also developing and researching new technologies to non-invasively monitor physiology and brain activity.
Weimin Mou Mou, Weimin
BS P-585
(780) 492-3601
wmou@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
I am interested in two strongly interrelated questions: how people represent spatial relations among objects in the environment; how people access spatial representations during navigation. Virtual Environments are the major facility for my research.
Photo Unavailable Nash, Kyle
(Jan 2018)



Nicoladis, Elena
BS P-261
(780) 492-1758
elenan@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Language Development in Bilingual Children. Compounding and Morphological Acquisition in Children. Gesture and Thought.
Noels, Kimberley
BS P-319L
(780) 492-4717
knoels@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
My research interests rest at the intersection of cultural and social psychology, applied and sociolinguistics, and communication science, particularly as these disciplines pertain to intercultural relations and communication. My current research program involves two broad lines of inquiry. The first concerns bilingualism and second language learning, with a focus on how the social context is linked people's experience of intrinsic and self-determined motivation, the process of internalizing a new language into one's sense of self, and the implications of motivated learning for social identity. The second centers on the role of communication in the process of cross-cultural adaptation, particularly the dynamic relation between language and identity development.
Passey, Jennifer *
BS P-341
(780) 492-3229
jpassey@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
In addition to Research Methods, I teach courses related to the Social and Cultural Psychology area, including: Self and Identity, Interpersonal Relationships, Social Influence, Social Psychology, and Personality.
Rast, David
BS P-319H
(780) 492-5264
david.rast@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
My research focuses on the psychological processes of leadership that occur within and between small dynamic groups, such as teams or divisions, and larger social categories ranging from organizations to ethnic and national groups. More specifically, my research examines the social psychology of leadership and influence. I investigate the role of social identity processes in shaping group and organizational behavior, specifically leadership and followership.
Schimel, Jeff *
BS P-319J
(780) 492-5280
jschimel@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
My research is broadly concerned with understanding the psychological function of important beliefs about the self and world. The types of beliefs I have been investigating over the years have to do with 1) self-esteem, the belief that one is an object of primary value in a world of meaning (c.f., Becker, 1971), and 2) cultural worldviews, beliefs about the nature of reality. Some of my research suggests that these beliefs function, at least in part, to help people manage anxiety about death.
Singhal, Anthony
BS P-249
(780) 492-7847
asinghal@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Cognitive neuroscience of attention, memory, emotion, and visuomotor control
Singhal, Deanna *
BS P-263
(780) 492-0970
dsinghal@ualberta.ca


Spalding, Tom
BS P-581
(780) 492-7778
spalding@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
My research interests are broad, but all relate to the issue of how people combine information in the course of learning, comprehension, and inference. This overarching interest has led to research on concepts, conceptual combination, memory, word meanings, analytic reading, and expository writing, as well as peripheral interests in spatial cognition, conceptual development, and consumer loyalty.
Spetch, Marcia *
BS P-447
(780) 492-7548
mspetch@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Comparative studies of learning, memory and cognition, including spatial memory and navigation, avian visual cognition, and object recognition. Memory biases and gambling.
Sturdy, Chris *
BS P-441
(780) 492-7843
csturdy@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
An interdisciplinary and integrative approach to understanding the Neuroethology of songbird acoustic communication, with interests in these related research areas: Animal Cognition, Animal Behaviour, Animal Communication, Neuroethology, Neurobiology and Behaviour, Neuroscience, Artifical Neural Networks.
Westbury, Chris
BS P-577
(780) 492-5275
chrisw@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Language processing (especially reading in adults), affect in language, neurolinguistics, aphasia diagnosis and classification, statistical models of language.
Wiebe, Sandra
BS P-243
(780) 492-2237
sandra.wiebe@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
My research examines the development of executive function and its relation to neural correlates in childhood, and how these developments relate to key predictors (e.g., physical activity, home environment) and outcomes (e.g., academic achievement).
Wylie, Douglas
BS P-453
(780) 492-5274
dwylie@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Neurophysiology of Motion Processing in the Avian Brain. A major focus of my research concerns the neurophysiological basis of visual processing. Although we study numerous aspects of vision, a thrust has been toward understanding those parts of the brain involved in the processing of optic flow that results from self-motion.
Yao Zheng Zheng, Yao
BS P-349
(780) 492-0187
yao.zheng@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
The influences of family and peer processes that shape different developmental trajectories of problem behaviors from childhood through adolescence to young adulthood, particularly with the application of advanced quantitative methodology at multiple levels of analysis and time scales in different ecological contexts. Gene-environment interplay in the development of problem behavior. Evaluation of preventative interventions that aim to prevent problem behaviors.
Ziolkowski, Sandra *
BS P-247
(780) 492-2530
sandra.ziolkowski@ualberta.ca