Professors Emeriti

Bisanz, Jeff
Psychology Arts

Email: jbisanz@ualberta.ca

Research Interests: Cognitive development, with emphases on mathematical cognition, instruction, and assessment. Community-based research on the development of children and families with the Community-University Partnership for the Study of Children, Youth, and Families.

Profile Page: https://apps.ualberta.ca/directory/person/jbisanz

Mathematical and Cognitive Development Lab: http://www.psych.ualberta.ca/~mcdlab/

Bourassa, Charles
Psychology Science

Email: cbour@ualberta.ca

Cornell, Ed
Psychology Arts

Email: ecornell@ualberta.ca

Dixon, Peter
Psychology Arts

Email: pdixon@ualberta.ca

Research Interests: Mind wandering, reading and literature, attention, action and perception, statistical methods.

Profile Page: https://apps.ualberta.ca/directory/person/pdixon

A-Z Cognition Lab: http://www.psych.ualberta.ca/~pdixon/Lab/

Dobbs, Allen
Psychology Science

Email: adobbs@ualberta.ca

Friedman, Alinda
Psychology Arts

Email: alinda@ualberta.ca

Research Interests: Spatial cognition, object and scene recognition, human geography, navigation.

Profile Page: https://apps.ualberta.ca/directory/person/alinda

Galambos, Nancy
Psychology Arts

Email: galambos@ualberta.ca

Research Interests: Mental health trajectories in the transition to adulthood; parent-youth relations; sleep behaviours and psychosocial functioning in university students; social development from adolescence to middle adulthood.

Profile Page: https://apps.ualberta.ca/directory/person/galambos

Grant, Doug
Psychology Science

Email: dsgrant@ualberta.ca

Heth, Donald
Psychology Science

Email: dheth@ualberta.ca

Kuiken, Donald
Psychology Arts

Email: dkuiken@ualberta.ca

Research Interests: Perceptual and aesthetic aftereffects of impactful dreams and memorable literary reading.

Profile Page: https://apps.ualberta.ca/directory/person/dkuiken

Phenomenological Research Lab: https://bit.ly/3m1sGdR

Lechelt, Eugene
Psychology Arts

Email: elechelt@ualberta.ca

Mos, Leo
Psychology Arts

Email: lmos@ualberta.ca

Rule, Stanley
Psychology Science

Email: srule@ualberta.ca

Sinha, Birendra
Psychology Arts

Email: bsinha@ualberta.ca

Spetch, Marcia
Psychology Science

Email: mspetch@ualberta.ca

Research Interests: Comparative studies of learning, memory and cognition, including spatial memory and navigation, avian visual cognition, and object recognition. Memory biases and gambling.

Profile Page: https://apps.ualberta.ca/directory/person/mspetch

Varnhagen, Connie
Psychology Arts

Email: varn@ualberta.ca

Wahlsten, Douglas
Psychology Science

Email: wahlsten@ualberta.ca

Profile Page: https://apps.ualberta.ca/directory/person/wahlsten

Recent Work:

  • 2019: Book published by Elsevier/Academic Press: Genes, Brain Function, and Behavior: What Genes Do, How They Malfunction, and Ways to Repair Damage (https://bit.ly/3Ceb4AS).
  • 2014: Continuation of the investigations of eugenics in Alberta that begun in 1995 during the time of Leilani Muir’s lawsuit against the government. Served as Editor for Muir’s autobiography, A Whisper Past, published in 2014 by Friesen Press.