EDI in Psychology

The Department of Psychology believes that organizational diversity and excellence go hand-in-hand. We are committed to identifying our limitations as a department in terms of equity, diversity, and inclusion and making actionable changes to overcome these limitations. We want all our constituents to feel welcome, safe, and valued in the core activities of teaching, research, and administration.

In January 2021, the Psychology Equity, Diversity, and Inclusivity Working Group was formed to examine and reaffirm our commitment to EDI within the Department. In February 2022, this working group was updated to the “Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee” (Psychology EDI Committee).

In September 2023, the Department of Psychology sent out an EDI survey to collect data on our demographics (who we are), and how EDI-related issues impact the people of our department every day. Please click here to read the introduction to this Survey.

Community Guidelines
Click here to view our EDI Community Guidelines.
Committee Members
Committee Member Position
Anthony Singhal (2021) Committee Co-Chair (Faculty representative & Department Chair)
Jennifer Passey (2021) Committee Co-Chair (Academic Teaching Staff)
Lauren Guillette (2021) Faculty representative
Chris Sturdy (2021) Faculty representative
Kina Montenegro (2023) Academic Teaching Staff
Ben Whittaker (2022) Post Doctoral Fellow representative
Vacant Other academic staff
Vacant Support staff representative
Moriah Deimeke (2023) Graduate student representative
Jingyi Zhang (2023) Graduate student representative
Luke Beltran (2023) Undergraduate student representative
Pram Thennakoonwela (2023) Undergraduate student representative
Committee Terms of Reference and Positionality Statement

Click here to view our Terms of Reference.

 Positionality Statement: Members of the Psychology EDI Committee belong to the following communities: Native speakers of languages other than English; visible minorities/people of color; those with physical and/or mental disabilities; neurodiverse individuals; members of the 2SLGBTQA+ community; international students; permanent residents; people in Canada on work visas; first generation academics; and parents. The Committee does not currently include members of the following communities: Indigenous (First Nations, Metis, or Inuit), or refugees.

Contact Info
Please reach out to Anthony Singhal and Jennifer Passey using psyedi@ualberta.ca with any EDI questions or concerns.
EDI Meetings and Events
  • Meetings in 2021: March 15, April 12, May 11, June 8 & 22, July 6 & 27, August 24, September 14 & 28, and November 23.
  • Meetings in 2022: February 4 & 18, March 11, April 1 & 22, May 10, May 31, June 21, August 2, September 13, October 7, November 4, November 18.
  • Meetings in 2023: March 17, March 31, April 14, April 28, May 30, June 20, July 18, Aug 15, Sept 6, and Nov 1
EDI Survey
The EDI Committee initiated its own departmental survey in September and October 2023.