Department of Psychology Inclusion Statement Feb-11-2021

11 February 2021

Department of Psychology Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Statement
11 February 2021

The Department of Psychology at the University of Alberta is committed to an equitable, diverse, and inclusive environment. We welcome and encourage applications from all qualified persons, especially those from groups which have faced systemic barriers regarding access to and equity in post-secondary education and careers. We encourage women; First Nations, Métis and Inuit persons; members of visible minority groups; persons with disabilities; persons of any sexual orientation or gender identity and expression; and all those who may contribute to the further diversification and excellence of our Psychology program. We believe that organizational diversity and excellence go hand-in-hand. We are committed to identifying our limitations as a department in terms of equity, diversity and inclusion and making actionable changes to overcome these limitations. To this end we recently formed the Psychology Equity, Diversity, and Inclusivity Working Group (PEDIWG) to support our initiatives in creating more diversity among our members, and valuing and respecting diversity in our teaching, research, and service mission. We understand that improving our Department’s equity, diversity and inclusivity is an important priority that will contribute to the strength of the Department of Psychology.

The members of the PEDIWG include undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, instructors, and staff and faculty members. During the 2020-2021 academic year, they are: Andres Camacho, Lauren Guillette, Fajar Khan, Llyn Madsen, Kimberly Noels, Jennifer Passey, Anthony Singhal, Chris Sturdy, and Julia Wood. If you have questions or concerns, we encourage you to reach out to any of our PEDIWG members. 

Link to the Department of Psychology MacEachran Statement, written and endorsed by an official Department of Psychology working group.