Our People

Dr. Robert Summers

Dr. Robert Summers

Academic Director

  • Strategy and oversight
  • Course development
  • Sustainability Scholars
Dr. Sheena Wilson

Dr. Sheena Wilson

Associate Director

  • Researcher network
  • Lecture Series
  • Campus Saint-Jean
Dr. Lars Hallstrom

Dr. Lars Hallstrom

Associate Director

  • Academic programs
  • Augustana Campus
Dr. Frank Robinson

Dr. Frank Robinson

Associate Director

  • Certificate in Sustainability

Leadership contacts

Name Title Phone Email
Robert Summers Director 780-492-7162 robert.summers@ualberta.ca
Lars Hallstrom Associate Director 780-679-1661 lars.hallstrom@ualberta.ca
Frank Robinson Associate Director 780-990-7487 frank.robinson@ualberta.ca
Sheena Wilson Associate Director 780-485-8628 sheena.wilson@ualberta.ca

Staff contacts

Name Title Phone Email
Trevor Chow-Fraser Program Lead, Marketing & Communications 780-492-6876 trevor.chowfraser@ualberta.ca
Maja Osmanagić Program Lead, Academic Programs and Initiatives 780-248-1916 maja.osmanagic@ualberta.ca
Nathalie Walker Program Lead, Office and Events 780-492-6363 nathalie.walker@ualberta.ca
Name Title Phone Email
Jasmine Farahbakhsh Academic Sustainability Assistant 780-248-1959 jasmine.farahbakhsh@ualberta.ca
Nada Baali Sustainability Engagement Coordinator 780-257-0902 nada.baali@ualberta.ca
Prachi Mishra Associate Project Planner 780-492-6889 prachi.mishra@ualberta.ca
Mara Metz Project & Administrative Assistant 780-492-9289 mara.metz@ualberta.ca

Working Groups and Committees

Sustainable Food Working Group

This team is composed of students, academic staff, support staff and food vendors. Together, they explore ways to create a resilient food system at the University of Alberta. The working group has sponsored undergraduate research projects in the past, as well as sponsoring projects through Community Service-Learning.

Examples of projects

  • food donation program development
  • healthy food campus survey
  • organize a panel discussion

Sustainability Council Representative: Maja Osmanagić (maja.osmanagic@ualberta.ca).

Green Labs Leaders Network

The Green Labs Leaders Network connects lab users who are interested in leading by example and educating the research community about safe and sustainable lab practices. The network provides input into the university's green labs initiatives, develop best practices for greening labs in our local context, and educate other lab users about safe and sustainable lab practices. The network meets quarterly and online.

Sustainability Council Representative: Nada Baali (nada.baali@ualberta.ca).

Waste Diversion Working Group

The University of Alberta Waste Diversion Working Group is focused on the university’s commitment to divert 90 per cent of waste from landfill and continue to reduce waste per campus user. The working group brings together stakeholders from across the university to collaborate, provide strategic guidance for the activities of these stakeholder groups, and help to develop a comprehensive waste diversion strategy for the university.

The working group's activities incldue: conducting needs assessments, establishing targets for the Zero Waste program, educating the university community, and integrating waste diversion into academia. The working group meets quarterly and online.

Sustainability Council Representative: Jasmine Farahbakhsh (jasmine.farahbakhsh@ualberta.ca).

Energy Transition Leadership Network

The Energy Transition Leadership Network is a group of more than 100 leaders who work in commercial, industrial, non-profit, educational and institutional sectors. They represent organizations who are passionate about the City of Edmonton's energy transition strategy, with members working together to turn ideas into action.

The group meets every four months, with several presentations on various energy related topics and group discussions. Members generate new, innovative solutions and are beginning to move these ideas into action with the goal of influencing hundreds of thousands of Edmontonians.

Meetings also provide an opportunity to strengthen the network of energy transition leaders and help members identify new partners or collaborators to advance their initiatives.

Sustainability Council Representative: Jasmine Farahbakhsh (jasmine.farahbakhsh@ualberta.ca).

The Sustainability Council’s Research Steering Committee promotes diverse interdisciplinary sustainability scholarship across all faculties, engaging with local and global communities. The committee spotlights research activities through a speaker series and other activities.

Members are committed to low-carbon research practices; equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI); reconciliation and indigenization; and to transparency in all decision-making processes.

Learn more


The Sustainability Council runs an annual internship program, and welcomes practicum students from Edmonton post-secondary institutions. Learn more about these career advancement opportunities.

Learn more