Campus Sustainability Leaders Awards. Congratulations Neelakshi Joshi and Brenda Parlee!

Campus Sustainability Leaders Awards

The Campus Sustainability Leaders Awards recognize outstanding individuals for their efforts to build a socially, environmentally and economically sustainable world. These winners are leading the way in how the University of Alberta operates, the services we provide, the way we teach, and strengthening the fabric of campus life and community.

Congratulations to the 2021 winners!

Neelakshi Joshi is a post-doctoral research fellow working on the Future Energy Systems project at the Urban Environment Observatory where she focuses in municipal transitions to low-carbon pathways in Canada. She obtained her PhD from the Dresden Leibniz Graduate School in Germany where her research dealt with the risks of rapid unplanned urban development in the Himalayas. Previously she has worked at the World Resource Institute as a consultant for sustainable transport and at the Auroville Earth Institute, UNESCO Chair for Earth Construction (2010-12) specializing in low cost and sustainable earth based construction.

Brenda L. Parlee is Professor in the Department of Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology in the Faculty of Agricultural, Life & Environmental Sciences. She has worked in northern Canada and globally for over 20 years on a range of collaborative and community-based research projects related to community-based monitoring, social-ecological change in the Mackenzie River Basin, wildlife health, Indigenous knowledge of caribou populations, sustainable resource development, the impacts of mining on community well being, biodiversity conservation and cooperative (co-management) of lands and resources in Alberta. She is Principal Investigator of Tracking Change, a collaborative research initiative focused on the role of local and traditional knowledge in the sustainable governance of the Mackenzie-Amazon-Mekong river basins.

We are working with these two fantastic winners to profile their work and honour their accomplishment in time for World Environment Day in June. Please subscribe to our YouTube channel to stay in the loop.

Winners’ Spotlight

Meet some of the individuals who previously won a Campus Sustainability Leaders Award, whose exceptional accomplishments are the foundation for the University of Alberta's gold reputation in sustainability.

Neelakshi Joshi

Postdoctoral fellow Neelakshi Joshi shares her roots in green architecture and how she is helping Edmonton's community leagues become climate resilient.

Sourayan Mookerjea

University of Alberta sociologist Sourayan Mookerjea shares his approach to research-creation and what he learned about sustainability from a recent project.

Laurie Adkin

Find out what inspired University of Alberta political scientist Laurie Adkin to start her groundbreaking research into popular movements and environmentalism.

Megha Sharma

Megha Sharma helped form the group Diversity in Engineering. As part of their advocacy work, she took on a research project that is fundamentally changing the Faculty of Engineering.