Recent Events


On May 2nd and 3rd, 2024 past and present faculty members, students, staff, alumni and distinguished guests gathered to celebrate 100 Years of Discoveries

Telus International Centre, University of Alberta

Thank you to the Organizing Committee:

Joanne Lemieux, Jonathan Parrish, Richard Fahlman,
Olivier Julien, Tine Tennessen, Andrew Poholka and Mark Glover (chair)

Photos courtesy of Dr. Andrew Fang

Dr. Glover and Dr. Lemieux

Dr. Mark Glover (current Chair of Biochemistry Department) and Dr. Joanne Lemieux (100 Years organizing committee and Biochemistry Professor)


Dr. Bill Flanagan

Dr. Bill Flanagan (President and Vice Chancellor of the UofA)


Dr. Lorne Tyrrell

Dr. Lorne Tyrrell (Distinguished Professor, Former Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry)


Dr. Robert Ryan

Dr. Bob Ryan (University of Nevada, Reno, UofA Prof. ’88-00)


  Dr. Curtis Hodge

Dr. Curtis Hodge (CEO of Nanotein Technologies, Biochemistry Alum)






audience listening to a speaker



Dr. Brenda Hemmelgarn

Dr. Brenda Hemmelgarn (Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry)


Dr. Jonathan Parrish

Dr. Jonathan Parrish (Biochemistry Teaching Professor, Biochemistry Alum)


Dr. Helen Coe

Dr. Helen Coe (Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Biochemistry Alum)


Biochemistry Alumni

Biochemistry Alumni answer questions about life after graduate school