2018 Faculty of Arts Celebration of Excellence

English & Film Studies well-represented at the Faculty of Arts Celebration of Excellence!

C. Devereux - 4 May 2018

EFS students, staff, teachers, and researchers were honoured at the Faculty of Arts Celebration of Excellence on May 3rd, 2018.
Students Scott Jackshaw and Mackenzie Wiebe were among fifteen students to receive the Roger S. Smith Undergraduate Researcher Awards: the Roger S. Smith Award provides students with $5000 over fifteen weeks of research-based activity over the summer.
Assistant Chair Bob Longworth received the Faculty's Outstanding Lead Administrator Award.
EFS PhD students Helen Frost, Brittany Reid, and Laura Sydora were recognized for her exemplary work in the classroom with Faculty of Arts Graduate Student Teaching Awards.
Dr. Rachel Prusko received a Faculty of Arts Contract Instructor Teaching Award. Rachel will be nominated in the coming year for the University-wide William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.
The William Hardy Alexander Award was won this year by Dr. Laura Schechter, who will be recognized again later in the year for this prestigious award.
Graduate student Lisa Martin was recognized for having received a Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship.
Dr. Julie Rak was celebrated as holder of the Killam Annual Professorship, and Dr. John Considine as holder of the J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research.

EFS was well-represented among the 73 people honoured at this event!

Scott Jackshaw and Mackenzie Wiebe, Rober S. Smith Award-holders, with Brittney Hubley

Outstanding Lead Administrator Bob Longworth with Linda Crawford and Dean Leslie Cormack

Laura Sydora, Laura Schechter, and Helen Frost

Rachel Prusko with her husband David and her mother, former EFS Professor Linda Woodbridge

Killam Annual Professor Dr. Julie Rak