English and Film Studies

PhD Students

Balzer, Samantha
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-36
balzer@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Drs. C. Devereux/ S. Luhmann
Title: The Case of the Disappearing History: Remembering and Forgetting Eugenic Policy and Practice in Western Canada
Bargen, Darrel
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-52
bargen@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. S. Reimer
Title: The English Manuscripts and Early Print Editions of Walter Hilton to 1533 and Beyond
Barnholden, Neale
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-36
barnhold@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Devereux
Title: Where are the Dead? History in the Supernatural Fin-de-Siecle
Beauchesne, Nick
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-74
beauches@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. O'Driscoll
Title: Transatlantic Modernism, Spiritual Networks, and Little Magazines
Bezan, Sarah
PhD Student
bezan@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. D. Chisholm
Title: Postmortem Proximities: The Contiguity of Animal and Human Death in Contemporary Literature and Culture
Blomquist, Gregory
PhD Student
gblomqui@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: It's Dangerous to Go Alone! The Anxiety of Transmedia Storytelling\
Brandsma, Nicole
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-60
nbrandsm@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Drs. K. Martin/S. Krotz
Title: Contemporary Literary Representations of the Relationship between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal Peoples in Communities along British Columbia's Highway 16
Breiter, Jason
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-22
breiter@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. R. Brazeau
Title: "Some Weird Bunch of Anti-Rebels": Exploring the Ethics of Sincerity in the Post-Postmodern American Novel
Buzny, Priel
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-50
buzny@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. N. Hurley
Title: Make-Up Sex: Queer Theory and Forgiveness
Calloway, David
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-60
calloway@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. T. Zackodnik
Title: Geography of Containment and the Great Migration Novel
Carlson, Adam
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-86
abcarlso@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: On Tolerance: Behaving Well from Liberalism to Neoliberalism
Cole, Richard
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-32
rich.cole@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Bracken
Title: The New York School and the Rise of the Postwar City
Cormier, Matthew
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-68
mcormier@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. Carriere
Title: Revising Canadian Postmodernism with France Daigle's Pour sur
Daignault, Amanda
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-28
adaignau@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. G. Kelly
Title: Childhood Power and Adult Abdication in Contemporary Children's Urban Fantasy Novels
Eun, Kyung Hwa
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-64
keun@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Harol
Title: "Shopping Women and Urban Spectatorship in the Novels By Burney, Austen, and Ferrier"
Farnel, Megan
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-28
mfarnel@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Drs. N. Hurley/M. Engel
Title: Loving Labour Online: Affective Materialism and Digital Labour
Fox, Kerry-Leigh
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-54
kerrylei@ualberta.ca
Frost, Helen
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-34
hfrost@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Ball
Title: Living in Fear: Representing Rape in Post-Apartheid South Africa
Hannigan, Lee
PhD Student
lhanniga@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. O'Driscoll
Title: Geometry of Knives: The Poetics of Erasure in Post-WWII America
Harvey, Daniel
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-72
dharvey@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: Representing Global Slums
Hasenbank, Andrea
PhD Student
agh3@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. G. Kelly
Title: Proletarian Publics: Leftist and labour print in Canada, 1930-1939
Haynes, Melissa
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-34
mshaynes@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Ball
Title: Invertebrate Industries: Insects, Borders, and Global Life
Horvat, Ana
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-76
ahorvat@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: The Transition of Trans Life Writing: From Print to Digital
Houseman, David
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-64
houseman@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. D. Chisholm
Title: Desert Rogues: Becoming and Time in the American West
Humble, Shaina
PhD Student
shumble@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Martin
Title: "Reclaiming Historic Ethnography Through Contemporary Inuit Cultural Productions"
Jackson, Robert
PhD Student
rkjackso@ualberta.ca
Janzen, David
PhD Student
djanzen@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: Dialectics & Event in Contemporary Criticism
Johnson, Adrea
PhD Student
arj@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. S. Hamilton
Title: Uncovering the hidden autobiographical rhetorics and literary success of Susannah Spurgeon: A Reconsideration of the rhetorical strategies and material production on nineteenth-century female auto/biography
Kashani Lotfabadi, Mahdi
PhD Student
kashanil@ualberta.ca
Kerfoot, Brandon
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-76
bkerfoot@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Ball
Title: The Right to Animal Life: Naming Human-Animal Relations in Canada's Eastern Arctic
Kinder, Jordan
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-48
jkinder@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: Liquid Ethics, Fluid Politics: Promise, Sustainability, and the Narrative of Ethical Capitalism in Canadian Petroculture
Kootnikoff, David
PhD Student
kootniko@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Bracken
Title: Challenging Aesthetics: the Politics of Universality
Kosman, Marcelle
PhD Student
mkosman@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: Companion Species: The Reciprocal Relationship of Feminism and Canadian Women's SF
Kroon, Ariel
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-24
kroon@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. Carriere
Title: Surviving the Future Now: Twentieth-Century Canadian Post-Apocalyptic Science Fiction
Kvas, Kevin
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-74
kvas@ualberta.ca
Lael Netzer, Orly
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-22
laelnetz@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: Reading Witnessing: The Ethics of Reading Life Narratives and the Project of Building Transcultural Relations in Canada
McRae, Sarah
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-48
spower@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: Reading and Writing Lives: Negotiating Authenticity in Networked Digital Life Writing
Meloche, Katherine
PhD Student
meloche@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Martin
Title: Interrogative Modes: Indigenous Justice, Criminality, and Surveillance in the Detective Fiction of Thomas King, Sherman Alexie, and Eden Robinson, Le-Anne Howe
Miya, Chelsea
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-64
cmiya@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. O'Driscoll
Title: Excavating the Data Trail
Moran, Richard
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-26
rmoran1@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Bracken
Title: Indigenous Literature and the Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation
Mukherjee, Ayantika
PhD Student
ayantika@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Drs. N. Hurley/E. Kent
Title: Innocence and the Child Imperialist in Nineteenth-Century American Adventure and Travel Fiction
Mulcahy, Claire
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-66
mmulcahy@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. T. Zackodnik
Title: "The Carless, Unneat, Untrained, Restless Class": Black Women's Representations of the Black Domestic in Turn-of-the-Century Periodicals
Narayanan, Bhuvaneswary
PhD Student
bhuvanes@ualberta.ca
Neudorf, Benjamin
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-48
bneudorf@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Harol
Title: Eighteenth Century Political Satire and the Politics of Space
O'Brien, Sean
PhD Student
sjobrien@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: Precarity and the Historicity of the Present: American Literature and Culture from Long Boom to Long Downturn
O'Connor, Danielle
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-68
doconnor@ualberta.ca
Owen, William
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-30
wowen@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. A. Braz
Title: Border Iconography in the Unsettling Kingdom: Culture, the State, and Nationhood in Canada
Pabst, Kurt
PhD Student
kpabst@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: The Money-Form at the End of the Growth Paradigm
Page, Leanne
PhD Student
lpage@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. E. Kent
Title: Bodies, Spaces, and Identities: The Functions of Dress in the Victorian Sensation Novel
Paul, Cameron
PhD Student
cnpaul@ualberta.ca
Pestereva, Nataliia
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-68
pesterev@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. E. Kent
Title: Reconsidering Postcolonial Studies: the Russian Empire and the Case of the Caucasus
Pinterics, Natasha
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-52
pinteric@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. N. Hurley
Title: Marginal Mothers: Troubling Discursive Accounts of the Maternal Body
Rangwala, Shama
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-32
srangwal@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. O'Driscoll
Title: Modernist Visual Desire and the Cinematization of Text
Reid, Brittany
PhD Student
blreid@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. E. Kelly
Title: "Staging the Shelleys: Romantic Collaboration in Contemporary Biographical Theatre"
Richardson, Jillian
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-66
jjrichar@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. S. Hamilton
Title: The Inside Story: Undercover Reporting the Victorian Press, 1860-1900
Rosanowski, Annika
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-76
rosanows@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. Carriere
Title: Post-Apocalyptic Fiction in Canada and America: Navigating Crisis toward a New Future
Sagher, Shada
PhD Student
sagher@ualberta.ca
Sajecki, Anna
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-26
sajecki@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. H. Zwicker
Title: Trans-Canada Communities: A Cultural History of the Canadian Highway
Savard, Valerie
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-24
vesavard@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: Technologized Disparity: Embodied Class in Contemporary Science Fiction
Scanlon, Taylor
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-62
tscanlon@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. N. Hurley
Title: "Beneath This Mask There Is an Idea": Masking, Anonymity, and the Post-9/11 Physiognomic Gaze
Schaufert, Braidon
PhD Student
schaufer@ualberta.ca
Scott, Conrad
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-40
cgscott@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. A. Braz
Title: Here, at the End: Dystopia in North American Apocalyptic Fiction
Smith Elford, Jana
PhD Student
smithelf@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Wallace
Title: Strategies of Social Reform: Feminists' Political Interventions at the Victorian Fin de Siecle
Snyder, Meredith
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-74
meredith@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. N. Hurley
Title: Learning for Tomorrow: the Queer Childhoods of Speculative Fiction
Spallacci, Amanda
PhD Student
spallacc@ualberta.ca
Stepanik, Lucie
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-72
lstepani@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: The Cultural Construction of Possible Futures in New Road Narratives
Storey, Samantha
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-40
sstorey@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Devereux
Title: Breaking Barriers: Changing the Roles of Female Fantasy Characters in Guy Gavriel Kay's Historical Fantasies
Sydora, Laura
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-50
sydora1@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. R. Brazeau
Title: (Fore) Mothering Erin: Feminine Voices and the Irish Literary Tradition, 1950-1990
Tarraf, Zeina
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-26
ztarraf@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Ball
Title: Cultural Trauma and the Politics of Memory: Negotiating Remembrance in the Narrative Landscape of the Lebanese Civil War
Tetreault, Matthew
PhD Student
ttreault@ualbeta.ca
Thacker, Aaron
PhD Student
athacker@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Devereux
Title: Poles of Inaccessibility: Mapping Psychosocial Marginality in the Anglo-Canadian Literary Landscape
Tyler, Emily
PhD Student
Umerzurike, Uchechukwu (Peter)
PhD Student
umezurik@ualberta.ca
Van Essen, Angela
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-32
avanesse@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Martin
Title: Living, Learning, and Pikiskwewin Kikapimacihtahk (Language Preservation): The Use of Cree in Contemporary Canadian English Literature
Van Orden, Meindert (Nick)
PhD Student
vanorden@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. H. Quamen
Title: Collaborative Interplaying in Cyberpunk and Second Life
Van der Marel, Camille
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-36
lvanderm@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. S. Slemon
Title: Bookkeeping: Discourses of Debt in Caribbean-Canadian Literature
Webb, Stephen
PhD Student
skwebb@ualberta.ca
Wells, Brianna
PhD Student
Office: HC 4-50
blw@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. N. Hurley
Title: Opera Circulation in Contemporary North America
Young, Liam
PhD Student
Office: HC 3-72
lwyoung@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. S. Hamilton
Title: Periodical Time and Meal Time: Vegetarian Food Reform, the Nineteenth Century Press, and Serialized Eating