English and Film Studies

PhD Students

Balzer, Samantha
PhD Student
balzer@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Drs. C. Devereux/ S. Luhmann
Title: The Case of the Disappearing History: Remembering and Forgetting Eugenic Policy and Practice in Western Canada
Barnholden, Neale
PhD Student
barnhold@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Devereux
Title: Where are the Dead? History in the Supernatural Fin-de-Siecle
Beauchesne, Nick
PhD Student
beauches@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. O'Driscoll
Title: Transatlantic Modernism, Spiritual Networks, and Little Magazines
Belcourt, Billy-Ray
PhD Student
billyray@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Martin
Title: The Indigenous Paranormal: Non-Being and Freedom in the Aftermath of the Long Twentieth Century
Blomquist, Gregory
PhD Student
gblomqui@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: It's Dangerous to Go Alone! The Anxiety of Transmedia Storytelling
Brandsma, Nicole
PhD Student
nbrandsm@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Drs. K. Martin/S. Krotz
Title: Contemporary Literary Representations of the Relationship between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal Peoples in Communities along British Columbia's Highway 16
Breiter, Jason
PhD Student
breiter@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. R. Brazeau
Title: "Some Weird Bunch of Anti-Rebels": Exploring the Ethics of Sincerity in the Post-Postmodern American Novel
Bunten-Walberg, Alexandra
PhD Student
buntenwa@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. Simpson
Title: Historicity, Ethics, and Politics in Posthumanist Discourses and Speculative Fiction
Buzny, Priel
PhD Student
buzny@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. N. Hurley
Title: Make-Up Sex: Queer Theory and Forgiveness
Calloway, David
PhD Student
calloway@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. T. Zackodnik
Title: Geography of Containment and the Great Migration Novel
Carlson, Adam
PhD Student
abcarlso@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: On Tolerance: Behaving Well from Liberalism to Neoliberalism
Cole, Richard
PhD Student
rich.cole@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Bracken
Title: The New York School and the Rise of the Postwar City
Cormier, Matthew
PhD Student
mcormier@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. Carriere
Title: Revising Canadian Postmodernism with France Daigle's Pour sur
Daignault, Amanda
PhD Student
adaignau@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. G. Kelly
Title: Childhood Power and Adult Abdication in Contemporary Children's Urban Fantasy Novels
Dickeson, Maxwell
PhD Student
dickeson@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Drs. C. Devereux/A. Ensslin
Title: Roles and Rolling: The Inextricability of Socialization, Story, and Narrative Play in Tabletop Roleplaying Games
Eun, Kyung Hwa
PhD Student
keun@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Harol
Title: "Shopping Women and Urban Spectatorship in the Novels By Burney, Austen, and Ferrier"
Farnel, Megan
PhD Student
mfarnel@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Drs. N. Hurley/M. Engel
Title: Loving Labour Online: Affective Materialism and Digital Labour
Fleischmann, Aloys
PhD Student
fleischm@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: Approaching Apology: Indirect Communication, Literature, and the
Fox, Kerry-Leigh
PhD Student
kerrylei@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. H. Zwicker
Title: Performing Fandom/Performing Queerness
Frost, Helen
PhD Student
hfrost@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Ball
Title: Living in Fear: Representing Rape in Post-Apartheid South Africa
Hannigan, Lee
PhD Student
lhanniga@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. O'Driscoll
Title: Geometry of Knives: The Poetics of Erasure in Post-WWII America
Harvey, Daniel
PhD Student
dharvey@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: Representing Global Slums
Hasenbank, Andrea
PhD Student
agh3@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. G. Kelly
Title: Proletarian Publics: Leftist and labour print in Canada, 1930-1939
Haynes, Melissa
PhD Student
mshaynes@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Ball
Title: Invertebrate Industries: Insects, Borders, and Global Life
Horvat, Ana
PhD Student
ahorvat@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: The Transition of Trans Life Writing: From Print to Digital
Houseman, David
PhD Student
houseman@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. D. Chisholm
Title: Desert Rogues: Becoming and Time in the American West
Hoven, Emily
PhD Student
ehoven@ualberta.ca
Humble, Shaina
PhD Student
shumble@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Martin
Title: "Reclaiming Historic Ethnography Through Contemporary Inuit Cultural Productions"
Jackson, Robert
PhD Student
rkjackso@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Stewart
Title: Grammars of Antagonism//Techniques of Refusal: (In)(Re)surgent Poetics in Canada
Johnson, Adrea
PhD Student
arj@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. S. Brown
Title: Uncovering the hidden autobiographical rhetorics and literary success of Susannah Spurgeon: A Reconsideration of the rhetorical strategies and material production on nineteenth-century female auto/biography
Johnson, Brittany
PhD Student
brittany.johnson@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Martin
Title: Frog Songs: An Indigenous Approach to Sexual, Political, and Reporductive Justice
Kashani Lotfabadi, Mahdi
PhD Student
kashanil@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. R. Brazeau
Title: The Chaotic Narratology of Joycean Nocturnal Raconteurs: Finnegans Wake's Quest for Mitigating Cosmic Narratives
Khan, Arshad
PhD Student
ask1@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: Hijra Autobiographical Expression in Contemporary India
Kinder, Jordan
PhD Student
jkinder@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: Liquid Ethics, Fluid Politics: Promise, Sustainability, and the Narrative of Ethical Capitalism in Canadian Petroculture
Kootnikoff, David
PhD Student
kootniko@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Bracken
Title: Challenging Aesthetics: the Politics of Universality
Kosman, Marcelle
PhD Student
mkosman@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: Companion Species: The Reciprocal Relationship of Feminism and Canadian Women's SF
Kroon, Ariel
PhD Student
kroon@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. Carriere
Title: Surviving the Future Now: Twentieth-Century Canadian Post-Apocalyptic Science Fiction
Kvas, Kevin
PhD Student
kvas@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. H. Quamen
Title: Discourse Economies:  The Economics of Language in Great Recessional Canada
Lael Netzer, Orly
PhD Student
laelnetz@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: Reading Witnessing: The Ethics of Reading Life Narratives and the Project of Building Transcultural Relations in Canada
Mabrouk, Miriam
PhD Student
mabrouk@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. Simpson
Title: Spectacles of War and Terror: a comparative study of representations of terrorism in Iraqi Diasporic and American Literary Productions
Martin, Lisa
PhD Student
lmartin3@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Wiesenthal
Title: Imagining Future(s): Creative Writing Practice, Research, and Pedagogy in Post-Secondary Education
McRae, Sarah
PhD Student
spower@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: Reading and Writing Lives: Negotiating Authenticity in Networked Digital Life Writing
Meloche, Katherine
PhD Student
meloche@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Martin
Title: Interrogative Modes: Indigenous Justice, Criminality, and Surveillance in the Detective Fiction of Thomas King, Sherman Alexie, and Eden Robinson, Le-Anne Howe
Merklinger, Emily
PhD Student
emerklin@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. N. Hurley
Title: We have a world to reclaim?: World-Making and Revolt in Queer Visionary Fiction
Miya, Chelsea
PhD Student
cmiya@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. O'Driscoll
Title: Excavating the Data Trail
Moran, Richard
PhD Student
rmoran1@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Bracken
Title: Indigenous Literature and the Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation
Mukherjee, Ayantika
PhD Student
ayantika@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Drs. N. Hurley/E. Kent
Title: Innocence and the Child Imperialist in Nineteenth-Century American Adventure and Travel Fiction
Narayanan, Bhuvaneswary
PhD Student
bhuvanes@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Harol
Title: The Politics of Female Authorship: Sovereignty, Religion, and Criticism in women's writing 1660-1740
Neudorf, Benjamin
PhD Student
bneudorf@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Harol
Title: Eighteenth Century Political Satire and the Politics of Space
Oberg, Melanie
PhD Student
moberg@ualberta.ca 
 
O'Brien, Sean
PhD Student
sjobrien@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: Precarity and the Historicity of the Present: American Literature and Culture from Long Boom to Long Downturn
O'Connor, Danielle
PhD Student
doconnor@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. N. Hurley
Title: Between Two Worlds: Miniature People in Children's Literature
Owen, William
PhD Student
wowen@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. A. Braz
Title: Border Iconography in the Unsettling Kingdom: Culture, the State, and Nationhood in Canada
Pabst, Kurt
PhD Student
kpabst@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: The Money-Form at the End of the Growth Paradigm
Page, Leanne
PhD Student
lpage@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. E. Kent
Title: Bodies, Spaces, and Identities: The Functions of Dress in the Victorian Sensation Novel
Paul, Cameron
PhD Student
cnpaul@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. Simpson
Title: Laborious Extracts: Examining North American Activist and Labor Narratives in Late Industrial Petro-Capitalism
Pestereva, Nataliia
PhD Student
pesterev@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. E. Kent
Title: Reconsidering Postcolonial Studies: the Russian Empire and the Case of the Caucasus
Pinterics, Natasha
PhD Student
pinteric@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. N. Hurley
Title: Marginal Mothers: Troubling Discursive Accounts of the Maternal Body
Rangwala, Shama
PhD Student
srangwal@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. O'Driscoll
Title: Modernist Visual Desire and the Cinematization of Text
Reid, Brittany
PhD Student
blreid@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. E. Kelly
Title: "Staging the Shelleys: Romantic Collaboration in Contemporary Biographical Theatre"
Rosanowski, Annika
PhD Student
rosanows@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. Carriere
Title: Post-Apocalyptic Fiction in Canada and America: Navigating Crisis toward a New Future
Sagher, Shada
PhD Student
sagher@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. C. Devereux
Title: (In) Corporations of Folklore: Culture, Capital, and Media in the 21st Century
Savard, Valerie
PhD Student
vesavard@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. I. Szeman
Title: Technologized Disparity: Embodied Class in Contemporary Science Fiction
Schaufert, Braidon
PhD Student
schaufer@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. O'Driscoll
Title: Unsettling Homonationalism: Queer Theory, Spectrality, and the Indeterminancies that Trouble
Scott, Conrad
PhD Student
cgscott@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. A. Braz
Title: Here, at the End: Dystopia in North American Apocalyptic Fiction
Snyder, Meredith
PhD Student
meredith@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. N. Hurley
Title: Learning for Tomorrow: the Queer Childhoods of Speculative Fiction
Spallacci, Amanda
PhD Student
spallacc@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. J. Rak
Title: Deconstructing Personal Rape Narratives
Sydora, Laura
PhD Student
sydora1@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. R. Brazeau
Title: (Fore) Mothering Erin: Feminine Voices and the Irish Literary Tradition, 1950-1990
Tetreault, Matthew
PhD Student
ttreault@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. A. Braz
Title: Red River Poetics: A literary History of the Metis Nation
Tyler, Emily
PhD Student
etyler@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. M. O'Driscoll
Title: Affective Landscapes in Nineteenth-Century U.S. Gothic Literature
Umezurike, Uchechukwu (Peter)
PhD Student
umezurik@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. L. Ouzgane
Title: Masculinities In Contemporary Nigerian Fiction
Van Essen, Angela
PhD Student
avanesse@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. K. Martin
Title: Living, Learning, and Pikiskwewin Kikapimacihtahk (Language Preservation): The Use of Cree in Contemporary Canadian English Literature
Van der Marel, Camille
PhD Student
lvanderm@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. S. Slemon
Title: Bookkeeping: Discourses of Debt in Caribbean-Canadian Literature
Verissimo, Comfort
PhD Student
verissim@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. A. Braz
Title: We Remember Differently: "Truth," Representation, and Trauma in the Nigeria-Biafra War
Webb, Stephen
PhD Student
skwebb@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dr. G. Kelly
Title: Lasting Links: Networking Lord Byron's World of Print