Biochemistry graduate students may be eligible for a variety of scholarships.  Please be advised this is not a comprehensive list of eligible awards and students are ultimately responsible for seeking out current award opportunities. Students are encouraged to apply for all awards for which they are eligible. If you have any questions, please contact the Graduate Program Advisor.

Department of Biochemistry Scholarships
  • Award Recipients
     2007 Jeremy Wideman
     2005 Michael Shopik & Tao Wu
     2003 Kimberley Colvin
     2001 Eric Saude & Leslie Grad
     1999 Frank Visser
     1997 Stanley Kwok

Stephen Campbell Memorial Award
Awarded to first and second year graduate students with exceptional teaching skills

  • Award Recipients
      First Year Graduate Student
    Second Year Graduate Student
        2019   Bridgette Hartley   Tautvydas Paskevicious
        2018   Rabih Abou Farraj   Laine Lysyk
        2017   Vineet Rathod   Robyn Millott
        2016   Zelei Yang   Hyeong Jin Kim
      2015   Furkat Mukhtarov
      Ayat Omar
      2014   Cameron Smithers
      Esteban Flores

Graduate Leaders in Biochemistry
Awarded for the best research article published (print or epub) in the previous calendar year by a first author graduate student

  • Award Recipients
    2018 David Kramer
    2017 Fangze Cai
    2016 Curtis Hodge
    2015 Sampath Loganathan
    2014 Amira Fitieh
    2013 Craig Markin
    2012 Daniel Prins
    2011 Craig Markin
    2010 Magnus Friis
    2009 Dustin Ritchie
    2008 Sam Szeto
    2007 Matthew Schellenberg
Lionel B Pett
Academic excellence award given to a new student entering a full time graduate degree program in Biochemistry
  • Award Recipients
     2018 George Han and Paige Grant
     2017 Sayed Madi and Tautvydas Paskevicius
     2016 Steffane McLennan & Suad Rashid
     2014 Qiang Wang
     2013 Ayat Omar
     2012 Sheng Yi Wu
     2011 Mohamed Eldeeb
     2010 MiYao Hu & Yun Peng
     2009 Justin Fedor & Angela Fung
     2008 Alison Craik & Jeff Odenback
     2007 Huipo Tang
     2006 Karen Freedman & Rory Shott
     2005 Allison Kraus, Charles Leung & Ian Robertson
     2004 Laura Minard
     2003 Mireille St. Vincent
     2002 Sue Ann Mok
     2001 Vitali Petrounevitch

Madsen Thesis Book Prize
Awarded to a graduate student in Biochemistry submitting the best PhD thesis at the Spring or Fall convocation of a given year
  • Award Recipients
     2018 David Kramer
     2017 Rebecca Gibeault
     2016 Justin Fedor
     2015 Sandra Pineda Sanabria
     2014 Angela Fung
     2013 Craig Markin
     2012 Delaine Ceholski & Stephen Campbell
     2011 Olivier Julien
     2010 Dustin Ritchie
     2009 Olga Baryshnikova & Ryan Hoffman
     2008 Ting Wai Lee
     2007 Eric Saude
     2006 Jason Lamoureux
     2005 Oliver Kent
     2004 Robert Scott Williams & Sean McKenna
     2003 Brian Mark
     2002 Helen Everett
     2001 Jeffrey Heibein
     2000 Nina Khazanovich Bernstein & Brian Trippet
     1999 John Dawson & Amir Khan
     1998 Jean-Christopher Rochet

CM Kay Book Prize
Awarded to the student with the top score in BIOCH 565
  • Award Recipients
     2011 Sandra Pineda
     2008 Pascale Swanson & Przemyslaw Gorski
     2006 John Paul Glaves
     2004 Ryan Hoffman
     2002 Ting-Wai Lee
     2000 Frank Visser
     1998 Michal Kaisiak
     1996 Amir R Khan

Smillie Book Prize
Awarded to the student with the top score in BIOCH 520