Mitacs and Yukon internships


To view the Press Release from the Yukon Government please click the image above.

Mitacs Internships for Yukon COVID-19 Recovery

For more information on the Mitacs Accelerate Program

Quick facts
• 25 four-to-six-month internship units are available and host organizations may apply for multiple students or multiple units per student.
• Full-time post-secondary college, undergraduate and graduate students, as well as post-doctoral fellows, are eligible for these internships. Eligible host organizations include businesses, non-profit organizations, hospitals, foundations and municipalities. To be eligible, either the student, the host organization or the associated academic institution must be based in Yukon.
• Students will receive a $15,000 award per internship unit, with a minimum $10,000 stipend and up to $5,000 for research support costs. Host organizations are responsible for 25 per cent of that, with the remainder coming from the Government of Yukon, YukonU and Mitacs.
• Organizations that are interested in this opportunity but are unable to contribute 25 per cent may be eligible for support from the Yukon Department of Education Staffing UP or Building UP programs. Please contact the Department of Education to discuss options.
• Students or host organizations that would like more information can contact Mitacs at or For information about the research priorities for this initiative, contact Yukon’s Office of the Science Advisor at
• Mitacs fosters growth and innovation in Canada by solving business challenges with research solutions from academic institutions. It is a not-for-profit organization funded by the Government of Canada, the Government of Alberta, the Government of British Columbia, Research Manitoba, the Government of New Brunswick, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, the Government of Nova Scotia, the Government of Ontario, Innovation PEI, the Government of Quebec, Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature et technologies, the Government of Saskatchewan and the Government of Yukon.